Sunday Sneak Peak!

Hmm…*taps fingers* what to share…oh, I know…here’s a blurb from a WIP I’m currently calling The Healer and the Hitman

It’s unedited…

* * * *

 

The banging on the door snapped me out of a deep sleep.

“Open up Jade!” More banging.

“Shit!” I knew that voice and the man attached to it never stopped by for a friendly visit. I threw back the covers and scurried across my loft to fling open the door.

The battered and bruised face staring back at me had my heart race triple speed. Blood trickled out of one corner of his battered mouth. My breath hitched. “What the fuck happened to you!”

I’d healed Hunter Ward more than a few times after a mission went badly but I’d never seen him this broken before.

“I ran into a werewolf who had a different opinion of which of us should survive.”

“Why aren’t you at the hospital?”

“Like I’d let those hacks touch me,” Hunter scoffed. “I don’t trust anyone but you.”

A flutter rippled through my stomach. I pushed back the thrill. Hunter didn’t mean anything by that. Nothing like I’d want from him.

“Come in.”

I stripped off my shirt.

“What are you doing?” Hunter asked, his voice deeper than before.

I peered at him suspiciously. “I just bought the shirt I’m not going to let you bleed all over it.”

Hunter snorted. “How the fuck can you make me laugh when I’m bleeding out?”

“Consider it a gift.”

I slid my arm around his back and helped him inside. “Come sit on my guest bed.”

From the look of him I’d need to do a full body healing. I rushed to put a towel down to cover the linen. I hated blood on my bedding. It was hard to get it clean even with bleach. Most people didn’t show up on my doorstep bleeding. Hunter was one of the few people I allowed into my inner sanctum for healing purposes. I spend the rest of my time working on my potions. I come from a magical gifted family but I have the strongest raw magic of all of them.

I got Hunter settled on the bed.

“Lift your arms.”

“I don’t know if I can.”

“You can.” I filtered enough power to him to ease his pain.

Hunter sighed as he lifted his arms. “I feel better just walking into your place.”

“That’s because you connect seeing me with easing your pain.” I wasn’t going to read anything into his statement. I healed him. It was my fault I had more than a professional interest in him. As far as I knew Hunter was straight. Even with my magic I can’t turn a straight guy gay and I wouldn’t if I could. I’d never change a person’s identity. It went against every belief I held. At night I dreamed of Hunter sleeping on the other side of my bed I would go to my grave with that thought before I shared it with others.

“Thanks for seeing me Jade. I know you could’ve pretended you weren’t home.”

“You’re just lucky my date cancelled.” I’d started dating a guy recently. He’d cancelled when his meeting turned out to be longer than expected.

Hunter froze. “You’re dating?”

“You don’t have to sound appalled, some guys find me attractive,” I frowned at him a little hurt at his disbelief.

Hunter wrapped a hand around my arm. “Hey I didn’t mean it like that. You just didn’t mention anyone before.”

“Sorry.” I sighed. “I don’t think it’s going to work out between us anyway.”

“Why not?”

I shrugged. “He’s very corporate and I think he needs someone who has the same mindset. I suspect he’s seeing someone else anyway.”

“He’s cheating on you? Want me to talk to him?”

The idea of rough hitman Hunter having a talk to my CEO occasional date had me laughing. “No. We never agreed to be exclusive. We don’t really have anything in common. He really loves money and I…”

“Could care less but have a lot of it anyway. Do you think he’s after you for your money?”

I laughed. “I’m pretty sure he has more than me. Let’s worry about you, then you can worry about me.”

“Deal.”

Hunter’s rough voice slid through me like an auditory caress. Only through strength of will did I prevent my erection from coming to life. My entire body was tuned to Hunter. Examining his chest my heart ached. “Oh babe, you did a number didn’t you.”

The endearment slipped out. Hunter didn’t respond. Good, maybe he didn’t hear.

“This is going to hurt a bit.”

I pressed my hands against his chest and pushed out my power. A liquid gold glow poured from my palms and covered Hunter. A few minutes later my magic receded leaving behind unmarred skin.

Hunter let out a sigh of relief.

“Lie down. You need to sleep.”

Exhaustion swamped me. I shook from the energy expended.

“Come lay with me. I’ll sleep better if I know you’re here.”

I didn’t know why I agreed my own bed was just down the hall. However, I couldn’t resist Hunter’s coaxing voice. I climbed into bed beside him and didn’t object when he pulled me closer and settled my head in the crook of his shoulder.

“Rest healer. Tomorrow I will get out of your way.”

43 thoughts on “Sunday Sneak Peak!

  1. Judging from this it’s going to be a sweet romance. So the werewolf drew blood… *grits teeth in a smile* Is Jade able to prevent his patient from turning with his healing?

  2. I can’t figure out what’s wrong with my screen. I keep scrolling down but it won’t move. I feel violated. 😉 This is awesome. I can’t wait for the whole story!

  3. Oooh! Can’t wait for this one! I really hope it’s one of the longer ones. Is it the start of a new series or a standalone? (Please say series!)

  4. I will of course buy this one when it is available. Is it part of a series i.e. the wizard and the werewolf ?
    Anyway I know you will correct the syntax errors before publishing…

  5. I LOVE your books but I do have a question ?

    A while ago ( a year or more :p )
    You did something like this about another story …. One where he was like a vampire bounty hunter ? He went to a house and got this ball of light and sent the vampire away and the vampire second gave him a necklace? Will that story ever be told ? Lol because all your stories are awesome but that one sounded good

    Thanks

      1. Alrighty ( sighs ;p ) I’ll just read and reread all you other books that I love !

        They are all great reads I always laugh a lot reading them
        Thanks Ms. Kell

  6. You should keep going with this one. Although, the characters seem typical I kinda like their personalities from the little snippet. There’s something about them that’s a bit unique. Then again I haven’t read much about healers…..lol. I like where this story is going and I hope there’s more intrigue as well as action.

Comments are closed.