Sunday Snippet!

A bit of a story I’m working on here and there as yet unnamed and unedited. 🙂

“Mr. Henley I’m happy to offer you a position in our company. Your offer letter will be emailed to you. Please print out all the forms, sign them and bring them with you on Monday if you accept.”

“Thank you sir.” I stood up and accepted Mr. Morrison’s hand. I’d done it. I’d crossed the United States, moved away from home and got a job.

Just as I turned to leave the office door swung open and I stood face to face with someone I hadn’t seen in over two years.

“Baby, what are you doing here?”

“Spider. Please tell me this isn’t your dad’s company.”  I groaned.

Stilton “the spider” Vance had been my brother’s best friend growing up. However his family were rich. Super rich. I’d left town to work for a company not owned by them so I could stand on my own two feet.

Spider grinned, his handsome face joyful at seeing me. I had the biggest crush on him while growing up. I’d carefully hid it over the years but he made it difficult by wrapping me in his arms and squeezing me tight.

“It’s so good to see you, baby.” Spider had always shortened my family’s nickname of baby boy to baby. However it always made people think we were lovers or closer than we were. No matter how many times I told him to call me Denny he ignored me like usual.

He kept a hand wrapped around the back of my neck as I pulled away from the hug. I always tried to keep the contact minimal so he didn’t know about the erection I always got when he touched me.

“Always running away,” he chided.

“Tell me your father doesn’t own this company.”

“Dad doesn’t own this company,” he repeated dutifully.

I sighed in relief.

“I do. I bought it yesterday.”

“No!” I wailed.

Spider frowned. “Why? What’s wrong?”

I tensed.

“I just offered Mr. Henley a position in magical research. Is there some reason he shouldn’t work here?” Mr. Morrison asked.

“What’s the position? Pull up the paperwork.” Spider released my neck only to wrap an arm around my shoulders and drag me along while he went to check out Morrison’s offer.

Spider always liked to manhandle me. His constant touching had me hard and aching at the most inappropriate moments.

Morrison’s hands shook a bit when he handed over his electronic pad with the documents included.

“No, this isn’t right. Double the salary and put him in charge.”

I stepped out of Spider’s hold. “See this is why I was trying to stand on my own.”

Spider let out a huff. “Don’t be an idiot. Seattle’s an expensive city. If you don’t get a decent salary you’ll end up in some crap housing and your mother will kill me.”

“I haven’t accepted the job,” I pointed out.

“You will.” Spider made some changes on the electronic device and spun it back to the manager.

Morrison’s mouth dropped open. “But he’s fresh out of school.”

Spider scowled. “We’ll never find anyone who has a fraction of Denny’s skills. You’d be lucky to have him at three times the price.”

“I don’t want to cause problems,” I protested.

“Nonsense. You’ve never been a problem a day in your life.”

I sighed because I knew he’d heard that from my mother. The two of them were close she was like a second mother to him while growing up.

56 thoughts on “Sunday Snippet!

  1. Love this. I will buy it. Can not wait thanks for seek peek. You are a great writer. Please keep writing I will buy all ebooks with your name on them. You are that awesome.

  2. Hurry up and finish this. I’ll buy it yesterday.
    Spider has been waging courtship on Denny for a very long time it seems.
    Ooh there’s magic involved too. Yesterday. I want it yesterday.

  3. BTW, just noticed he wanted Spider to call him Jack and near the end Spider called him Denny, and the interviewer called him Mr. Henley…what the heck is the poor guy’s name?!

  4. Oh boy would love to read more sounds good so far wish you had given us more. So when do you think we can read the whole thing hmmmmmmmm.

  5. I know better than to read these…why do I torture myself?! You’ve already hooked me, another one I will be waiting anxiously for 😦

  6. Christmas will be here soon and you can tell Santa I have been a very, very good girl this year. So you could finish this story and I can have it in time for Christmas, yes I think this would make an extremely wonderful present to myself 🙂

  7. Very intriguing. Can’t wait to read the whole story and have a title to it. You have my interest rising. More please.

  8. I LOVE IT!!! I LOVE IT!!! please finish it. I want to read the whole thing. Its sound so very good. when do you think it will be published on Amazon.com for kindle if you finish it. i cant wait!!!

  9. Why do you always do this to us? A really good snippet and then we are crying for days before we can read the whole story.

  10. Oh, my goodness! This one had me laughing the whole time! I love it! I just hope it’s a longer one. I love it when you flesh them out more.

  11. You suck! I hate that you get me hooked on a book snippet and who knows when it will be finished! Finish it soon, please!

Comments are closed.