Devon Rhodes is Visiting Today!

devonrhodes_facebook_cover

Happy birthday month, Amber! xoxo And thanks for having me on. Bet you enjoyed chasing me for something for a change! πŸ™‚

Here’s a little birthday cameo by one of my past secondary characters. Leave a comment and tell me what you think! Should I write Andy’s book? I’ll choose a random winner from the commenters, and they can pick a book from my backlist OR an upcoming release. And as a birthday bonus, the first person to leave a comment with the title of the book this character appeared in will get a special present from me. I’ve taken out the friends’ names so it’s not quite as easy. πŸ™‚

********

β€œTriplets? Oh, happy birthday to me,” Andy breathed as he pressed his eye so closely to the peephole blinking became a problem, his hands and chest flat against the door.

He tried every possible angle and even switched eyes to try to get the best close-up view of the activity outside his front door, growing increasingly frustrated with his inability to confirm his suspicion. But no way was he going to go out and have their first impression of him be at his least primped.

The fish-eyed view only allowed Andy to see one blurry face at a time, but the three tall, jeans-clad, yummy men hauling furniture and boxes into his friend’s old apartment looked enough alike that the only difference Andy could see was their shirt color. And their hairstyles. All were the proverbial tall, dark, and handsome with identical builds and height. But the guy in the tight, white tee had his hair loose, just brushing the tops of his broad shoulders; the man with the red tee might have the same length as his brother, but he wore it tied back at the nape of his corded neck; and the beauty in marine blue wore his in a short, conservative cut.

Sweat freely rolled down their tanned faces and necks, darkening their shirts at the typical places, their muscles flexed and bunched, passing by too quickly as they moved in and out of Andy’s limited view. He could hear deep masculine voices alternately griping and teasing as they worked together with easy familiarity. At one point, they had a huge leather sofa stuck halfway in the door at a funny angle, with Mr Red Hot yelling at Tight-White as they argued about whether to pull it out or push it in to loosen it.

Muffled expletives and names were flying as Blue Boy came up the stairs to the landing and said something in a low, authoritative tone which quieted the other two down in a hurry. Andy squinted and looked more closely as a blurry Blue lingered obligingly in his line of sight. Not triplets then. Probably an older brother or something. The way he carried himself bespoke a maturity that was beyond college-aged. Just as well. College-aged was getting a bit young for him.

He bent over to set down a large box, and on tip-toe, Andy almost killed himself craning up and around trying to see his ass, which was tantalizingly out of focus at the bottom of the peephole. He grimaced as he rotated his neck, finally noticing that he was painfully stiff, and not just his cock at this point.

β€œIs this really the impression you want to make on your new neighbors? Settle down, boys.”

Looking out in time to see Blue gesturing at his door, Andy revised his mental estimation of the man’s age up another half-decade or so, now into his thirties. Much older brother then. Or cousin? Uncle? This was getting better and better. Older guys knew what they were doing.

He flattened himself against the door, eye on Mr Blue, and playfully humped the door as he watched the three work to pull the couch back out and set it down on the landing. Fuck, it’d been a long time since he’d gotten laid. Almost a month. Maybe he’d get lucky and one–or more–of these three would be gay.Β  Or curious. Yeah, curious was fine with him.

At a low command from the oldest, Tight-White clambered down the stairs and reappeared a minute later lugging a cooler, joining the other two seated on the couch.

Diet Coke break, sweaty boys. C’mon, someone lose a shirt already.

He almost laughed out loud as right on cue, Red Hot pulled his shirt over his head and used it to mop his face and neck while Blue took charge of distributing drinks.

Wow.

Finally motionless for the first time in the hour he’d been watching, Andy was finally able to appreciate the three. Good genes in this group, and they were definitely related. White and Red had to be twins, they were indistinguishable. And Blue was a slightly older carbon copy. He stifled a snort as it hit him.

Red, white, and blue, how patriotic. Making me salute. Oh yeah.

Damn fine, and built like brick shithouses, all three. Andy was ogling Red’s ripped chest and abs and actively rubbing himself through his pants when his phone rang. He jumped as if someone could see him, yanking his hand away from his crotch and racking his not-so-funny bone against the doorjamb with a loud thunk.

β€œShit!” That fucking hurt. Andy struggled to get his cell out of the front pocket of his tight designer jeans, made even tighter by his star-spangled erection. Finally succeeding, he looked at the display and chanced a peek out the peephole again and all three men were staring right at him. Or rather, at his door.

β€œHey,” he whispered, caught in the invisible stare-down with the trio.

β€œAndy?” His best friend sounded wary. β€œWhy are you whispering? I didn’t interrupt anything, did I?”

β€œNope, just checking out the new neighbors.”

Blue looked away first, stretching his arms up over his head before rummaging through the cooler.

β€œAnd you’re whispering because…”

β€œNo reason, babe.” Andy watched as the ringleader pulled out a handful of ice and started crunching it a cube at a time. The twins both lunged for the cooler at the same time, fighting for dominance before Red managed to shove his brother aside, grabbing his own handful of ice and shoving it down his brother’s tucked-in t-shirt.

β€œHey!” Andy could hear White’s outraged yell clearly through the door.

β€œWell, you’ll have to tell us all about them at dinner tonight.”

β€œDinner?” Andy echoed absently. The twins were wrestling in earnest, White laughing evilly as he took Red to the ground and thrusting a chunk of the freed ice from his shirt down his brother’s jeans, then sat on him, refusing to let him use his hands. Blue was laughing at their antics, and Andy was torn between watching the weirdly arousing fraternal wrestling and the breathtaking, laughing face of their sibling.

β€œYes, you’re coming to dinner tonight.”

Andy stood up straight, abandoning his clandestine surveillance. β€œWait a minute, since when?”

His friend spoke gently. β€œSince we haven’t seen you since we moved. I miss you, we both do.” He sighed. β€œIt’s your birthday, and I have a sneaking suspicion that you have no plans. You probably haven’t been out for weeks. Andy, you know…”

β€œDon’t go there, babe. And thanks. I’ll be over. You know me too well.”

They said their goodbyes then Andy took one last look out the peephole, before sighing and heading to get ready to actually join the real world, wondering if the boys would still be out there when he left for his command performance birthday dinner…

atfirsttouch_800

Devon’s latest release is the third book in her International Men of Sports series with TA Chase, At First Touch. It visits Germany with two teammates who find that the game they love isn’t all they have in common.

 

Blurb:

Excelling at the game he loved was everything to King, until Lukas showed him at first touch how much better his life could be…

Ewansiha ‘King’ Kroenig is at the pinnacle of his professional football career, even with a problem knee. He keeps his cool and keeps his head down, and that control has served him well. King is bisexual and has been known to date beautiful women, while he also occasionally satisfies his craving for men with the team’s trainer. It’s a good life, but starting with one bizarre and personal request from his ex, Silvia, his orderly life goes spinning out of control.

Lukas has no problem admitting he’s gay, but with a loudly homophobic team captain, he knows better than to go there around the team. He has his whole career ahead of him and is being groomed to take over for their star player, King Kroenig. If he admires King for more than his athletic prowess, what can it hurt?

No harm, no foul…until a certain trainer who knows them both well decides to play matchmaker, then all bets are off. And once they’ve experienced that first taste, they want more. But it’s not as simple as hooking up or dating when you’re teammates, with high profiles and little privacy. And when they each suddenly gain responsibilities they never expected, they must figure out a way to reconcile their personal lives with the expectations of others.

Devon’s favorite quote from At First Touch: “Oops, you must have me mixed up with a damsel in distress. Wrong movie. This is the macho sports flick.”

For an excerpt and info on the other books in the series, please visit https://www.totallybound.com/at-first-touch or http://www.devonrhodes.com/. πŸ™‚

v

148 thoughts on “Devon Rhodes is Visiting Today!

  1. This month is going to kill my bank account.

    Devon, you are a new author to me so looking forward to adding your books to my TBR!!

  2. Never read Devon Rhodes books before sounds interesting. Gonna check out what other books they have at ARe.

  3. Please write Andy’s story and maybe u can title it “Triple Trouble” or “Triple Threat” if Andy got to be with all three. ..lol

  4. I give up I could not for the life of me remember which book Andy is from. Which probably means that I haven’t read that book. So yes please write Andy’s story and let us know what story he is originally from so that those of us who haven’t read it can go back and do that while we wait for Andy’s story to be completed. Please and thank you.

    1. It was a pretty hard one–I was glad someone actually got it! It was Remarkable Restraint, which I’m also planning on considerably expanding. There’s more info in my comments below. πŸ™‚

  5. I have no idea what story Andy is from but he sounds so interesting, definitely write his story. I’m hoping he ends up with the older brother. Amber, you are killing my book budget with these authors, their excerpts are just so darned irresistible. Hugs! Off to go read my new books πŸ™‚

  6. I was hoping someone would have told us which book Andy was in by now. I like Andy and would read the book he’s in if I knew which one it is. 😦 Thanks for the short, by the way!

  7. Idk what book he’s from haven’t read any of your books….yet. But would love to hear more about Andy πŸ™‚

  8. Hell YES, write it PLEASE….. I want to know what happens now, will he get all 3 brothers? Twins? or the hot older brother???? oh my ….Andy what a choice…you lucky man….lol As for which book Andy is from…. I give up I don’t remember which one so that probably means I’ve not read it. SO…..What story is he originally from?? Would love to get them. Thanks for the great post. xxx

  9. Don’t know the book. I haven’t read many of yours so… but yes, would love to see Andy get his love:)

    Tj

  10. Great excerpt πŸ™‚
    Andy definitely needs his own book!!
    As for which book… i don’t think i’ve ever come across an “Andy” in your books.
    And i’ve read them all~!! (The MM ones) Though if there are twins, maybe it could be from “Falling for the other brother”. Hope someone comes with an answer πŸ˜‰

    1. Wow, thank you so much, Lynn! You’re right, there are a set of twins in Falling and also in Spring Training (these are a couple of my MFM and MF titles). But if you’ve read Silver and Gold, you might remember that Jesse (Geoff’s old love) got his girlfriend pregnant with twins right before college… πŸ˜‰ Yep, it’s Jesse, Jake and Josh.

  11. Without going back and reading it, I want to say Silver and Gold or Rough Riders. But I’m not sure..but I do want Andy’s story. But I’m one of those, who always want the secondary characters to get their own HEA. πŸ™‚

    1. Oh, so am I. I can’t write a secondary (much less read one) without wanting them to have their own book. And you were close with S&G, as I mentioned. Jesse and his boys making an appearance. πŸ˜‰

    1. I tend to sprinkle humor into about every book I write–kind of my thing. πŸ™‚ I loved writing Sergio (he was the quoted character)–and he’s another secondary that will be getting his own book!

  12. I only have about 8 of your books and there isn’t an Andy in any of them so I give up. It sounds very interesting and would enjoy reading more.

  13. I can’t name the book Andy comes from, but he definitely deserves a book now. I need to know more about him and I really hope his book includes Blue. And please let us know which book he comes from. If I haven’t read it I really need to back and read it now.

    1. I’m just so touched by the great response I’ve had, so definitely writing Andy’s book! I give the details on his previous appearance (as well as Blue’s) lower down in the comments here! πŸ™‚

  14. I would like Andy’s story and I think he was in A Detour Home. I have read some of your great books and can’t wait for Andy’s tell.

    1. I think you’re thinking of Marcus in A Detour Home. Andy was actually in Remarkable Restraint (more details in my comment below). Thank you so very much, I really appreciate the kind words! πŸ™‚

  15. I would love Andy to have his own story! Sorry, I don’t know what story he is from I have to start reading your books.

    1. Very close guess with S&G, and if you read my comment down further below you’ll see why I say that. πŸ™‚ Thanks for being a reader, I appreciate it! πŸ™‚

  16. I loved this little view (like we had our own little peephole into his world!) of Andy’s life. I do hope he gets his own story because this had me just absolutely grinning the whole time. Not that it would have to be a funny book, but I loved the writing style so much. This is my first time reading anything of yours, Devon, and it was a pleasure.

    1. The pleasure was all mine, Carolyn! Thank you so much. I do tend to infuse my stories with humor, because I love to smile, even when things get tough. Andy made it super easy to write–he’s a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

  17. I don’t remember Andy either, but based on that I agree, he needs his own story. If anyone here has read the International Men of Sports stories, run, not walk to add them to your TBR list, they are great!

    1. Aww, thank you sooo much for the awesome words about our Men of Sports books! Did you see the new cover we just got for our Australia book? Wowza. Our rugby player and lifeguard and lookin’ good! πŸ˜‰

  18. Wow! Thanks for all the awesome feedback, and I have to apologize for how obscure it was but we finally have a winner for that part of it! πŸ˜€

    Congrats to Kerry, who remembered Andy was Justin and Chaz’s neighbor and Chaz’s bestie in Remarkable Restraint, which was in DSP’s Games in the Dark anthology what seems like a looong time ago!

    Kerry, can you please email me off-list at devonrhodes at hotmail.com, and I’ll give you a few choices for your prize. πŸ˜€

    I loved that a few of you guessed Silver & Gold, because Blue was in that book. Blue is Jesse, Geoff’s first love, who got his girlfriend pregnant with twins right after high school and broke Geoff’s heart. Geoff and Jesse weren’t meant to be, of course, since Geoff went on to connect with Abe. And now Jesse’s newly single and helping the boys, Jake and Josh, move off-campus into their first apartment…right across from Andy. πŸ™‚ But is it father or son(s) who will heal Andy’s broken heart?

    I’ll wait and do the drawing for the overall commenter (or two) after this has been up for a full day. I’m sooo very appreciative of every comment! Thank you! πŸ™‚

  19. Oh, and just so you know, I’m definitely planning on writing Andy’s story, which will probably start with this very scene. However, I’m waiting to hear back on what’s going to happen when the anthology’s contract period is up. I’m pretty sure they’ll be returning the rights to us, so I will probably take advantage of that to revise and considerably expand Chaz and Justin’s story before I publish Andy’s. But they are at the top of my list as soon as I know what’s happening with the rights.

    As Amber’s loyal readers, you guys know all about revamping stories for re-release! πŸ™‚ I’ll make sure to keep everyone posted, and maybe put up snippets from time to time. xoxo

  20. Oh, man…you can’t tease us with a little excerpt and not write the rest the story for Andy. We’re committed now since we’ve had a little taste…. could you continue the story pretty please??? (I’m near the point of groveling, lol)

  21. I can’t believe I didn’t remember Remarkable Restraint when I was looking through all the books of yours that I own, that’s the story that made me fall in love with your writing! So excited to learn about an update on Andy, he was such a cute, fun character.

    1. Aww, that’s so great to hear! πŸ™‚ Thanks, Alicia! I always loved Andy and had planned to write his book…then kind of got distracted by other projects. It’s about time he gets his story. πŸ™‚ xoxo

Comments are closed.