Contest #1

There will be 5 additional contests in the Month of December (crossing fingers I remember). I will also be announcing author winners from my birthday month throughout the next few weeks. This was delayed because I’m behind not that my author guests weren’t awesome about choosing people.

The contest today is what is your favorite holiday meal. Are you a turkey lover? Ham? Vegetarian? Share your favorite meal and the winner will receive a $25.00 Amazon GC or BN or ARe or amberkellbooks.com…you get to choose.

165 thoughts on “Contest #1

  1. It depends whose cooking. If I am doing the cooking – baked ham with mustard sauce, potatoes, carrots and onions if it is my sister, roasted turkey with trimmings.

  2. on christmas eve we have all fish, salted cod in fried bread dough, smelts, shimp, spagetti with anchovies, tuna and broccoli pies, it,s been a family tradition and i will continue it. Have a great holiday

  3. Ooh Xmas dinner is my favourite… Soup for starters… Turkey, ham , homemade stuffing. Yorkshire puddings and gravy and mashed potatoes… Yum!!! Plus pavlova with cream strawberries and chocolate sauce!!! Love Christmas

  4. It depends I mean by the time Christmas comes I am all turkey out. So a nice honey baked ham is always good with five cheese Mack and chees, fresh bread and carrot cake for after the meal.

  5. I have 2 favorites. From the time I was a kid we’ve always done a big brunch on Christmas day and then a big dinner in the late evening. So to pick one…hmm, I’m gonna go with – cheesy egg dish, ham, fried potatoes, homemade biscuits, aspargus, and omg – dream rolls. We always stuff ourselves on the dream rolls. Yum!

  6. Favorite holiday meal is beef tenderloin with horseradish sauce.
    First time I made it I had not idea how much an entire tenderloin was going to cost. The butcher convinced me that another cut of meat wouldn’t be the same, man knew his business..

  7. My favorite for Christmas the last few years has been prime rib roast. We usually have Yorkshire pudding and homemade baked sweet potato fries with it.

  8. I don’t have a particular favorite holiday meal, I mostly enjoy the good company being around family after not seeing them for a year.

    If I have to pick a meal I lean towards turkey with gravey and mash potatoes but I am greedy for a good home cooked meal… So I would snag some ham too.

  9. My favorite holiday meal is pecan praline spiral ham, mashed potatoes, corn, stuffing and pumpkin pie with cool whip. But my favorite part of the meal is having my momma, the hubby, our children and granddaughter. That is what makes the meal. Thank you.

  10. I love our Christmas day meals with my mom, brother and his kids. It starts with breakfast casserole (sausage and egg) and pancakes then dinner with them as well for some reason we started having crab legs and shrimp with hashbrown casserole, corn casserole and others sides for Christmas dinner.

  11. It Turkey and stuffing but every year we try new recipes for side dishes. Some times (not often) they fall flat and are awful but mostly they are great and all my family love them.

  12. My Favorite is Turkey, stuffing and all the trimmings. It is so much a favorite in my house we do this meal several times throughout the year.

  13. Left over turkey for turkey sandwiches. Best part of Thanksgiving. Then left over ham for ham sandwiches for Christmas.

  14. Vegetarian here – So my cousin make this squash/zucchini/tomato dish that I absolutely love. Normally a side dish for everybody else – but I stuff myself with it!!

  15. My favorite holiday meal is turkey, broccoli casserole, sweet potatoes,stuffing and every dessert you can imagine lol

  16. The favourite holiday meal is Thanksgiving, with Turkey and all the trimmings. I also love green been casserole with cranberry sauce.

  17. For me all the appetizers before any holiday are my favorite. Cheese and crackers with amaretto on New Years Eve!

  18. My favorite is Turkey with all of the trimmings and enough for leftovers. My new favorite veggie side is sweet potato and brussel sprout hash that my daughter made. Yummy.

  19. My favorite meal for the holiday is as follows: a large roast ‘beast’ (a piece of prime rib, aka a standing rib roast of beef), popovers (if they actually POP), my grandmother’s chessey mashed potatos (mashed potatoes with chucked of mozzarella chesse inside and slices on top baked in the oven), green bean casserole with an abundance of frenches fried onion rings on top, Yorkshire pudding made with the roast beast juice (YUM!) & a frozen chocolate pie (Oreo cookie crust, melted chocolate, marshmellows, milk, kahlua & Godiva liqueur! Really yum!) That is my favorite holiday meal, enjoy!

  20. my favorite meal is Turkey & Stuffing with gravy and green bean casserole, I try and talk my kids into eating it for all the holidays … yummy

  21. My holiday favorite meal is ham, mashed potatoes mixed with mashed butternut squash and side of sweet potatoes.

  22. I always looked forward to Christmas dinner when I was a kid, thanksgiving was for turkey but we would vote on what we would have for Christmas and I always voted for home made enchiladas. And most years thats what we would have.

  23. I’m all for ham and potatoes (as long as it’s not honey ham. blech)! Although our family also has a tradition of doing grilled subs for one of our Christmas gatherings. It’s a nice change of pace after all the holiday food!

  24. Id have to say ham, although for Christmas, we have lasagne. My hubby’s Italian and it was a tradition in his family. 🙂

    JenC

  25. Favourite holiday meals (not Xmas) are all from a holiday in New England some years ago. Stayed at some fabulous B&Bs and breakfasts were awesome! Freshly made pancakes (american style), freshly made blueberry muffins, crispy Canadian bacon, lashings of real maple syrup… yum. My husband would say lobster rolls all along the east coast – which we can’t get here in UK.

  26. I love my mom’s homemade sour cream mashed potatoes, 4 cheese mac and cheese, speckled butter beans, rice and giblet gravy, prime rib roast, pork tender loin, turkey, spiral honey ham,biscuits and a whole slew of other things. She fixes way to much every year for christmas. lol. 🙂

  27. We always had a big meal. Usually ham, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, green beans, and pies! Excuse me, I need to go call my mother!

  28. Thanksgiving is turkey and ham, but Christmas is Prime rib roast with Yorkshire pudding, creamed spinach and a few other sides.

  29. If I was in the mood for turkey i would have to have baked mac and cheese but if it was ham I would have to have potatoes salad.

  30. I must go with puertorican tradition and said pernil asado con arroz con gandules y pasteles y morcillas yum I am hungry Sorry don’t know how to say it in English

  31. Fondue. We do it every year. Cheese fondue. Of course have to have dessert which is dark chocolate fondue. YUMMY.

  32. So this may sound strange to some but on Christmas Eve we have an Italian/Polish combo. Appetizers include stuffed peppers & calamari and the main meal is perogies and some type of fish. All of them yummy. We follow it up with my Mom’s cheesecake and fudge!

  33. My favorite holiday meal is leftovers of either ham or turkey because the cooking is already done and family is relaxed and enjoying each other’s company.

  34. Christmas dinner at my house always a favorite. Two reasons, one hubby does all the cooking and it is prime rib with twice baked potatoes, green beans and rolls. Then for dessert it is chocolate cream pie.

  35. I love a rolled chicken roast for Christmas lunch. Stuffed with pistachios and other yummy things. There has to be a trifle for dessert to make the meal complete!

  36. My favorite was breakfast the day after Christmas. My grandmother would bake a huge pan of fluffy homemade buttermilk biscuits. Everyone still in town would come by and pile on their favorite leftover, ham or turkey , cranberry sauce etc. Grandma’s fav was leftover greenbean casserole and turkey. it was a quiet time after all the fuss of gifts to just be together before we all left to go back home

  37. My favorite holiday meal is Turkey and stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes, rolls and a jellow salad. Love It!

  38. I would have to say my favorite meal of the holidays is Christmas breakfast -with we alwsys have fresh from the oven, homemade cinnamon rolls. It is the only time each year that we get them which makes them really special.

  39. It’s a toss up – in the past we had a prime rib on Xmas Eve, which was wonderful, however the last few years we’ve had a big Xmas breakfast with stuffed French Toast and fruit and bacon. Both are really amazing…

  40. Turkey and all the trimmings for Thanksgiving, Ham and Turkey with all the trimmings at Christmas. I love it all but the Ham is my favorite 😉

  41. Our culture really isn’t into eating turkey but I do enjoy it. Instead during the holidays we make sure we have a noodle dish and roasted pork. The noodle symbolizes long life and the roasted pork because its dang good.

  42. Hmmm.. it depends..
    If i’m cooking, then Veg all the way.. It’s much easier for me and less chance of me over or under-cooking anything. But then if it’s my Mum cooking, then Roasted Turkey is the way to go!!! Yum i love her homemade food~!! 🙂

  43. I love ham anytime doesn’t need to be a holiday. For Christmas we always do Lasagne and Lobster Stew. Something different rather than doing turkey again so close to Thanksgiving.

  44. I like turkey for christmas with all the trimmings. Otherwise my favourite meal is anything I don’t have to cook 😉

  45. I love the classic turkey, with real stuffing, not stove top etc. mashed potatoes and gravy, fresh rolls. I don’t care what other vegetables are served. This is not meant to be a healthy meal.

  46. My favorite is ham at Christmas and I make some awesome stuffing muffins I make. My sons would leave home if they were not on the table at Thanksgiving and Christmas. Yummy!

  47. I have fond memories of the Christmas goose with apple and prune stuffing, roasted vegetables, rolls, pies, cakes, cookies, fudge, oh my. Goose is hard to find these days so we will be having ham this year.

  48. I love the traditional meal with turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and lots of gravy. 😉 And my mom’s coconut cake for dessert!

  49. I love chicken at Christmas but my favourite meal has to be dessert either a delicious cheescake or a pavlova. Especially my chocolate pavlova with whipped cream & raspberries.

  50. We go non-traditional for Christmas – being Italian I make a feast of yummy pasta – usually lasagna, gooey garlic bread and other fixings.

    Happy Holidays!

  51. I love turkey!! Everyone laughs at me because I have to have turkey both Thanksgiving and Christmas, but we only get it twice a year so I want it both times!! Deep fried Cajun style is my favorite but a nice roasted turkey is great too!! Have to have cranberry sauce too!! 🙂

  52. I like ham. Turkey tends to be too dry. Plus ham taste better. Definitely not vegetarian. I love my meat! Then we have baked macaroni and cheesey green bean casserole plus rolls and the rest varied depending on our mood! 🙂

  53. My favorite holiday meal is my family’s usual Thanksgiving meal: turkey (I prefer dark meat *snicker*), macaroni & cheese, carrot souffle, and for dessert my mama’s egg custard pie…YUMMO!!!!

  54. Christmas Turkey dinner with all the trimmings – as much homemade as possible!
    Other than that, I love party nibbles, smoked salmon, chocolates!!

  55. During Christmas my favorite wernersnichal, Turkey, ham, cucumber salad, green beans casserole and devil eggs

  56. Holiday meals start with thanksgiving turkey , dressing, sweet potatoe casarole and pumpkim pie. Christmas dinner is Prime Rib and baked potatoe and christmas cookies. New years eve is fondue, meat, cheese and chocolate. And I wonder why I gain so much weight this time of year. 🙂

  57. No matter the holiday I have to have sweet potatoes. It just isn’t Christmas or Thanksgiving without it.

  58. The works turkey, ham, potatoes, gravy, green bean cass. yams, all the pies you can eat, then sleep 😉

  59. Fresh pasta with a really good homemade sauce and grilled vegetables. The sad thing is it used to be prime rib, honey baked ham, or turducken. It’s been two years and I really, really still miss my holiday meat!

  60. For breakfast, nothing beats the Star Wars pancakes that we make every morning from the shaped molds we got our son a few years back. For dinner, I miss a good old pork roast with sauerkraut and potatoes, a Christmas staple from growing up.

  61. The Christmas morning meal of coffee, leftover ham, scrambled eggs and cinnamon rolls with orange frosting. All eaten with family and presents.

  62. I think my fave may well be pork roast, mashed potatoes & gravy for new years — I rarely make gravy (ok maybe only on new year’s) but do love some good pork gravy on those mashed potatoes

  63. We don’t usually have turkey on Christmas. In fact we don’t really have a set meal on Christmas. Food choices can extend as far as lobster to any type of meat dishes.

  64. Since we normally have turkey at Thanksgiving, we generally have ham for Christmas along with mashed potatoes, roasted asparagus, rolls and lots of desserts.

  65. I love both Turkey and Ham, but I would have to choose Turkey with my grandmothers stuffing and cranberry sauce… Yummy now I’m hungry 😉

  66. It’s different, but I look forward to every new years with my parents growing up was a dinner of Chinese take out from our favorite place with a bottle of sparkling wine/juice and eating left over pumpkin pie and cookies.

  67. Turkey with stuffing and cranberry sauce, veges, roast potatoes and yorkshire pudding with gravy. Yummy!! And then Christmas Pudding with custard or Trifle for dessert.

  68. I read this and all I could think was “UNCLE BILL’S HOMEMADE MAC AND CHEESE!” So I’m going with that. We literally fight over who gets the corner pieces because that’s where the cheese likes to hide. It’s even better the second day. One year my cousin Josh and I staged a coup and stole an entire pan between the two of us. There may have been a massive outcry but we were okay with that. Especially since we both got two corner pieces. We also stole some of his sugar cookies later in the evening and hid behind the tree so no one could find us. My Uncle went to culinary school so the mac and cheese and those sugar cookies are no joke.

  69. Roast Turkey, Potato Dumplings, Turkey Gravy, Dutch Lettuce, Corn, Celery filled with Cream Cheese. We had this every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. For Easter, substitute Ham for the Turkey.

  70. Hangi!!! For those that don’t know – we dig a hole in the ground, make a mini bonfire with smooth round riverstones (ones that retain the heat from the fire) in the centre until glowing hot. Clear away the ash (leaving the heated stones in place), place wire baskets lined with cabbage leaves and filled with what ever meat you like (pork, lamb, beef, etc), and then do the same with veges (potatoes, kumara/sweet potatoes, etc), plus any steam puddings you like. Cover with more cabbage leaves, then sacking. Cover all over with dirt until a knee high mound is made. Do this in the morning. By mid afternoon the smokey flavour of the wood and the heat of the stones will be right through all the food and it will be cooked to perfection! 🙂

  71. Turkey. Definitely turkey. Because first off, the way my mom does it for Thanksgiving is freaking amazing and delicious, but after, the left overs, she makes the turkey into Tamales. Mmmm~~ God… that is even better than thanksgiving stuff. It was the same this year… I wait all year for this… because there is no Tamale better than my mom’s. LOL

  72. We always do traditional Thanksgiving turkey, but for Christmas we normally vote on what to have (Dad’s vote counts big time since it’s his birthday, too!). This year it will be Mom’s homemade pizza and Christmas cookies and candies for desert! Yum!!!

  73. for me it would have to be ham. I like turkey and everything else but I love the thick cut bake in your oven ham. Thanksgiving is turkey and Christmas is ham.

  74. hmm… for Christmas, well, I love that my grandmother prepares menudo, I don’t know why, but I love it when she cooks it, since I barely catch her cooking it (Christmas, New Year and birthdays are the only times she cooks it, so I have to have it~)… eating it with rice and some hamunado is heaven

    well, for dessert I like it when my grandmother (again) prepares ube (is it water yam in English, I have no idea… but she turns it into halaya(?)) and my mother makes a graham cake…

  75. Turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, corn, green beans, dressing (for the hubby), home-made yeast rolls, deviled eggs and whatever great dessert is available. I especially love my mom’s Italian Cream Cake, or my Million Dollar Pie, or my sister’s many terrific creations (including eclairs, homemade pies, coconut cake). Now I’ve made myself extremely hungry!

  76. Turkey, Ham, stuffing from inside the turkey, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, deviled eggs and lovely, lovely gravy…Dessert is chocolate pudding pie with Cool Whip for me and homemade rice pudding for the hubby!

  77. One ai don’t have to cook ? Lol no…we always have ham on Christmas..and I love it with pineapple .

    Thanks for the chance to win !

    Merry Christmas

  78. Traditional dinner. Fried turkey, ham, pork roast, gravy, mashed potatoes, cornbread dressing(my favorite) and all the other assorted things that go with it. And I think every dessert known to man! Thank you for the chance at this great giveaway!

Comments are closed.