Happy New Year!

Fireworks 28I’m so excited for 2014. I’m an optimist at heart and always hope for an amazing year. Do you have new year’s resolutions? Do you bother to make them? I usually make the same ones about being in better health or more organized but this year I’m making a different one.

I’m going to be more mindful of my life.

What do I mean by that? 2013 for me raced by without me feeling like I experienced it. Life is too short to rush through without thought. I want to pay more attention to each day and really be more aware of how I spend it. First I plan to slow down so I can enjoy my family. My older son is 14 and his time with us is almost gone. I want to get to know him better before he leaves us to go off on his own.

I’m going to pay more attention to my body and get exercise each day and really work on focusing on my food to have a healthier lifestyle for my family. I might even post the recipes I really like.

I’m going to take time to really enjoy my life. To do this I need to release the worries of imagined problems. I sometimes worry about the “what if” instead of enjoying the moment.

So for this year, I’m going to relax more, enjoy more and live more. What are your New Year’s resolutions?

20 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Like you relax. I have put so much focus out that I’m going to work more on in. I NEED to get my house in order. I want a REAL kitchen and floor. I want to love being a Grandma and not a glorified babysitter, so only taking grandson when I know I can handle it.

    Tj

  2. I am thinking along the same lines. Eating better, exercise more, sleep better.
    Re evaluate work situation instead of stumbling along day by day thoughtlessly.

  3. just be a healthier happier me for myself and my love ones to borrow from Mr Spock you and yours “Live long and prosper”

  4. As much as we all love your books, we all understand the need to balance your life Amber. And for me, I’m going to write more and get another (or several more) contracts signed for books!

  5. Happy New Year Amber!! πŸ™‚ New year’s resolution is to buy all the books on my wishlists lol. πŸ™‚

  6. Many years ago I resolved not to make New Year resolutions and what do you know that is the one resolution I have kept. Hope you have productive and happy new year.

  7. I need to continue which what I started in the last 3 month of 2013 yes I lost 6 pounds in the holidays go me. I most continue with eating healthier and exercising not just for me but to encourage and give an example to my 14 year old daughter.

  8. As always, keep the weight down. My other said a good one though that I think I may copy: keep a smaller place in my mind for hate. I tend to think the worst so it’s a good resolution.

  9. I usually don’t make resolutions because by the middle of the fist month (of the new year) I completely forget.
    But This time… I REALLY REALLY want to try to live a little more. Like… go out more and hang out with friends more.
    I’m a serious hermit. I don’t like going out. I like being at home reading, being with my dog, or watching tv, spending time on the computer.. I like the quite.
    I like being in my home where I can do whatever, whenever I want. But… I really think I just need to get out more. I need to live life a little more… adventurously.

    Also, I’m really going to try to loose weight. Truly. I’ll walk my dog more… maybe even run and do menial exercises in my room… but I really want to try. Those are my new years resolutions this time. and I truly hope I can stick by them.

  10. I always have the nearly the same resolutions each year.
    To always do my best so i never regret anything.
    To finally organize my closet !!
    Be happy and keep in touch more with my family~ πŸ˜€

  11. Yours sounds like a nice and thoughtful resolution. I’m not making any myself as it doesn’t feel “right” at this time. I figure one can make a resolution whenever it feels best, not just when the year changes. I do hope it’s a better year for everyone, though.

  12. Happy New Year! I plan to write more and post to my blog. At least, for writing. There is always the want to eat healthier, loose those extra pounds, and have more time for family. I like the idea of slowing down to enjoy life. While I might not have that as a resolution, I think that is a good goal to have.

  13. New Year resolution for me would be that try to eat healthy and exercise so that I won’t have gestational diabetes with my second pregnancy.

Comments are closed.