Forever My Love #17

After being away for so long I had to step back and re-read the story LOL!

* * * *

Trent sat at his desk twirling his pen around his fingers. He stared at the stack of papers on his desk and desultorily poked at them from time to time. When he’d taken this job he’d thought it would be low stress.

So far the job part had been easy but between ghosts, werewolves and a grieving man, he personal life was in free fall.

“Sheriff?”

Trent looked up from his blank staring at his desktop to find his assistant standing in his doorway.

“Yes?”

“Lee is here to see you.”

She said his name with the indulgent, motherly tones of someone who probably watched Lee grow up.

“Send him in.” Maybe he could make sense of at least one thing.

Lee entered the office. He shot Trent a look from beneath his lashes. “I-I’m sorry.”

Trent leaned back in his chair and crossed his arms. “What for?”

“For not believing you. Antonio contacted me.” Lee waved his phone. “He told me he doesn’t want me to be alone.”

“I see. Is that the only reason you’re here because Antonio told you to see me?”

Lee sighed and shoved his phone back in his pocket. “Look, I like you. Antonio told me to give you another chance and he’s got an angel trying to keep him.”

“You saw an angel?”

Lee shrugged. “Either that or the medication I’m taking for depression is giving me hallucinations.”

“I saw werewolves so who am I to criticize?”

Laughter bubbled out of Lee. “I am sorry. I’ve been feeling stressed lately. I didn’t mean to take it out on you. I know I need to move on. I do but when you spend years with the other half of your soul it’s hard to move on.”

Trent couldn’t stand to see Lee struggle. It was like watching a ship with no anchor floating around and hoping someone will pull him to shore. Trent stood and walked around his desk to pull Lee into his arms.

“It’ll be fine. You just need a little more time. At least you know Antonio is not alone, right?”

Lee nodded, snuggling in close.

Trent rubbed his cheek against the top of Lee’s head. “Ignore your pushy husband, do things on your own schedule. I’d be honored to be your friend if things develop they will if not then we can just enjoy each other’s company.”

He didn’t know if he would ever be more than a good friend to Lee but he had a feeling the young man needed someone to be his rock.

“Antonio likes you,” Lee muttered against his shirt.

Trent laughed. He didn’t say the ghost had a strange way of showing it. How would he behave if he was trying to find a new man for the love of his life. He doubted he’d have the strength to see it through.

“Have you eaten?”

“No.” Lee stepped back and wiped away his tears.

“Let’s go get some lunch. I’m starving.”Lee smiled, it was a bit watery and ragged around the edges but genuine nonetheless. “I’d like that.”

6 thoughts on “Forever My Love #17

  1. I still think Lee and Trent are better as friends. The “but when you spend years with the other half of your soul it’s hard to move on.” kind of says it all, he’s not ready.

  2. Yea, finally get to read more of this story. Can’t wait to see how it’s all going to work out. Are we looking at a threesome or is someone else going to be introduced. Agree though it doesn’t really sound like Lee is ready for more than friendship at this time.

  3. I smiled when I saw it.

    Don’t worry about having to re-read stuff. I have to re-read emails before I send so I can make sure I have written it grammatically and confirmed I spelled everything right. Homonyms are not your friend sometimes (and I had to think about how ‘homonyms’ was spelled so I could get close for the spell checker *sigh*).

Comments are closed.