Forever My Love #27

Pounding on his door told him Norm’s friends weren’t going anywhere. He growled and yanked the door open.

“What!” His mouth lengthened and his gums ached.

“Wow! You are really pissed!” The dark-haired wolf said.

Antonio figured these must be Steward and Brad like Ike said. “What are you two doing here?”

“Steward wanted to make sure you were all right,” the blond who must be Brad said.

“And where were you two when I was getting shot at by hunters?” Best to put them on the defensive. He had to uphold Norm’s asshole reputation.

“We thought you’d want privacy with Ike! You never like it when we watch,” Steward said. He kicked the rock by his foot.

“So you were just being courteous?” He let his tone indicate how little he believed them. They were more likely cowards than looking out for Norm’s best interest.

They nodded, their heads bouncing back and forth so fast Antonio wondered if they were fully attached. They looked at bit like those dashboard dolls with their bobbly heads.

“Well thanks for nothing. Ike got away and I almost got killed,” Antonio snapped.

“But you’re fine, right!” Steward said. He scanned Antonio as if searching for bullet holes.

“Yeah, not thanks to you. I think Ike’s brothers took care of the hunters. I left.”

“Good,” Brad said. “You don’t want them to catch you messing with Ike.”

Brad’s sharp gaze had Antonio evaluating the man’s intelligence. Of the pair Brad appeared to be the smarter. Why don’t you guys go on home, we can talk tomorrow?

The two men exchanged a glance. “Did you forget about tonight?” Steward asked.

Crap.

“Yeah, I did. I hid my head when I ducked a bullet. I’m a bit foggy. What were we doing tonight?”

Steward reached out and rubbed Antonio’s shoulder. “Sorry we can’t let you sleep buddy, we’ve got that shipment coming in. If we piss off the tigers they’re going to filet us and bury us in the forest.”

There are tiger shifters?

Antonio bit his lip. How much more could one guy take before he finally snapped? Maybe he wasn’t really in a reincarnated body. Maybe Lee had put him in a psych ward for his own protection?

“Wow, you really aren’t tracking are you?” Brad said.

Antonio forced himself to pay attention. “Sorry. What time do we need to be there?”

Brad scowled. “Eight. Eat some food and we’ll come get you around seven thirty.”

“Okay.” Antonio nodded. “I’ll be ready.”

“Are you sure you don’t want us to stay?” Steward asked.

“Yeah, I’m positive. I’m going to take a little nap and eat. I’ll be all better in a few hours. Don’t you guys worry.”

After a few more piercing looks the pair left.

Antonio didn’t waste any time. He went to the house phone. For the first time luck was with him. Norm had a list of pack numbers posted on the wall. He quickly located Ike’s number the only one circled in red.

Dialing quickly he barely waited until Ike said hello before he spoke. “We’ve got a problem.”

5 thoughts on “Forever My Love #27

  1. Tigers, and …Oh My…this is turning into quite a problematic situation for Antonio. Love it! Can’t wait for the next twist.

Comments are closed.