Tuesday Torturous Teaser

Quentin Heart pngIn honor of Meredith making me this gorgeous cover I’m giving another teaser for this book. Below you will find links to previous teasers on this book. I’m thinking a May release but don’t hold me to that. LOL

snippet one

snippet two

Today’s Teaser… (remember all teasers are unedited and subject to change)

“I made it.” Quentin laughed into his empty apartment. “I can’t believe it.” He collapsed on the sofa, smiling as he sank into the soft cushions.

A loud ringing made his heart hiccup in his chest.

“Shit.” Reaching into his jacket pocket he pulled out his cell phone. Reading the caller id he pressed the connect button. “Hi Stacy.”

“I got a call from the magistrate. How the hell did you transport Master Vlad and the entire cage?”

Quentin laughed. “Do you remember Hal?”

“The crazy wizard on 4th street?”

“Yep, he creating a transporting spell cage for me. I did up the design and he created the whole thing. Isn’t it cool?”

“Yeah, real cool but how do they get him out of it?”

“Umm. You have to say…” Quentin plunged his hands into his pocket cursing when everything fell out of them. His extra spell balls tumbled to the floor. Good thing they needed a vampire to activate them or he could’ve had a real problem. He let out a sigh of relief as the elusive piece of paper brushed against his finger. Turning the paper to decipher his own writing he read. “Touch the bars and say, release this vamp from cage to cell. That way he can’t go anywhere except inside the jail area.”

Relief swept through him. The one thing he didn’t confess when interviewed for the position was his sucky memory. Unless written down, Quentin couldn’t remember crap. Hopefully after he captured a few vamps, the necessary phrases would stick in his mind.

“Thanks Quentin, good work. The people at the station were really impressed with you.”

“Um, thanks.”

“I can hear you’re tired. Get some rest.”

Quentin gave a rushed goodbye. Laying his head against the back of the couch he wondered how his life had been reduced to this. If his mother hadn’t gotten sick maybe he would be accepting a professorship instead of walking into vampire clans and pretending he knew what the hell he was doing. Being a bounty hunter wasn’t his first choice of occupation but the pay was phenomenal and would allow him to take care of his mother after her fucking insurance company denied her claims due to pre-existing conditions. Quentin knew he had to come up with some cash and do it fast. Graduate school could wait another year, his mother might not live that long. He’d have to wake up early so he could see her before he went to work.

Taking off his jacket he collected all the balls off the floor and stuffed them back into his pockets for now. The sudden movement caused the necklace to thunk against his chest. Curious he moved to pull it off but an ice-cold burn against his fingers had him dropping it. As soon as he let go of the necklace it returned to normal temperature and lay calmly against his skin.

“What the hell?”

He walked to the bathroom and flicked on the light so he could see his reflection in the mirror. Leaning forward he took a good look at the necklace careful not to touch it with his hands. A brilliant platinum snowflake flickered at him in the dim bathroom lights with a large diamond sparkled in the center like frozen ice. The purity of the stone told Quentin, even with his limited jewel experience, that is was probably worth a fucking fortune.

Like a sledgehammer the events of the day slammed into him, the stress of his first job, the flush of success and the fear of dozens of vampires ripping him apart.

“Go to sleep, little human.”

The whispery voice sounded familiar but Quentin’s exhaustion stopped him short of identification.

“Okay.” He whispered to the strange voice talking in his head. He couldn’t remember the last time he got some real sleep. Worry for his mother ate at him, poking him with restless fingers. Stripping off his clothes he crawled into bed and for the first time in a long while had no problem falling asleep.

19 thoughts on “Tuesday Torturous Teaser

  1. I have said before I have not read a story of yours Amber I did not like mostly loved and this reads like another Keeper, torturous teaser is apt because I am waiting with baited breath hurry up May. 😂

  2. Sorry, Amber, but I think we’re going to hold you to May for this one. It’s yummy. I can’t wait to see Quentin getting Winter to sign. 😀

  3. I’m glad there is some kind of probable release for this. 🙂 This is torturous….my birthday is in May….i would love this to be release by then. 🙂

  4. So I think I can wait till May….think I can…think I can….oh yeah! Back to Color My Passion….I have that one stuck in my head…so pretty please both! With sugar and chocolate and sprinkles and cherry on top…..I really, really, love your stories!

Comments are closed.