Autism Awareness Day!

Autism Awareness Graphic

“Autism is diagnosed four times more often in boys than girls. Its prevalence is not affected by race, region, or socio-economic status. Since autism was first diagnosed in the U.S. the incidence has climbed to an alarming one in 68 children in the U.S.”

If you’ve been following my blog you’ll know that my younger child is on the autism spectrum. He is highly functioning and it took me several years before I could get anyone to agree to look at his symptoms. As a mother I knew something was different about him but since he is highly intelligent I couldn’t get anyone to acknowledge there was a problem. The number one thing I hear from people who meet him is that he is a cute, sweet, intelligent child. My concern is that his sweetness will be crushed by others who don’t appreciate those who are different. The world is a harsh place for people who don’t conform.

This month I am doing three things. I am giving $25.00 Amazon GC away to a random commenter, I am participating in an auction where you can bid on my three print Thresl books here, and I am publishing Unexpected Alpha a book where all the profits will go to the Autism Society of Washington. Unexpected Alpha will be out in a few weeks and I will announce when it is available.

 

49 thoughts on “Autism Awareness Day!

  1. that’s a great post thanks, never really thought about how hard it would be to get someone to see what was in front of them, not when doctors and schools are so quick to jump to conclusions about children theses days

    beeheeley(@)gmail(.)com

  2. Very interesting post, thanks for sharing! I just recently followed your blog so I didn’t know about your son but I saw his pic in an old post. He sure is a cutie! It’s true there are a lot of cruel people out there but there also are a lot undertansting and wonderful ones, who don’t doubt to help others. I hope things work out for you, your son and the resy of your family!

  3. you are right amber, it is a tough place out there for those who have special needs. my dad who had asbergers when he was alive found it very hard to get ppl to understand when he said he had it b/c he didn’t SEEM to have any difficulties.

  4. Thank you for helping to make more people aware about autism. It is especially difficult for those with a dual diagnosis. My daughter is autistic/bi-polar and she is a true blessing in my life. It has it’s difficult moments but whose life doesn’t. I wouldn’t change her for anything.

  5. All I can say is thank you Amber got all you do. It’s finally getting to the point that doctors are finally listening to parents concerns.

  6. This is wonderful, I think all too often parents don’t want to know their child is different and therefore let it go undiagnosed. Bravo to you for not being one of them.

  7. Our special children are such a gift to us. They help us to view the world in a different way and to see things that other people miss.

  8. Thanks for sharing your personal experiences with the difficulties in diagnosis and for helping promote awareness.

  9. It is great that awareness is improving, and things like this help greatly, I am looking forward to Unexpected Alpha

  10. The world could be a harsh place when you don’t conform to their so called norms. I admire my best friend, you and many more parents out there who have a child with any special needs. My best friend has a three year old diagnosed with low function autism and she is also legally blind and she is trying to get all the help she can for her child but sometimes the process quite long. .

  11. Hi Amber, I am a parent trying to get my son’s autism diagnosed here in Britain, I don’t think the process is any easier than in the USA and because my son is high functioning too, no-one wanted to listen for several years. I am still hopeful that my son may have his diagnosis by the time he goes to high school in a year and a half but it can be exhausting as a parent fighting the authorities as well as trying to do your best for your family. I have now been diagnosed with depression and anxiety myself and am trying to deal with my own ill-health too. Thanks for your books though – they help me through the long nights when I cannot sleep – Xavier’s Xmas is particularly uplifting when I am feeling particularly melancholy, although I have several of your other books too.

  12. You are awesome Amber. I always love seeing authors who are willing to donate proceeds for causes. Love your books.

  13. I look forward to buying Unexpected Alpha. Thanks for doing so much to show that everyone is worthy of love, not to mention acceptance!

  14. Amber our children are the future and knowing what a great person you are your future is secure in your son. I hope he will be able to keep his sweetness with his great parents he might just make it
    .

  15. There are times I buy things I wouldn’t usually buy because of the money going to a cause. I’d buy your book anyway, but knowing it’s going to this cause makes me feel good.

  16. I congratulate you on your continued strong advocacy for your son and all the other families out there touched by autism.
    I hope his light continues to shine brightly.

  17. Advocacy for our children is the most important thing we can do for our children. I have two on the spectrum and each day brings something new. It is a constant learning process as laws and regulations change so frequently. Best of luck.

  18. That is the problem with Autism some are highly funcational and other are not and if not diagnosed early they can miss out on the help that is available.

  19. I have taken care of a young man with disabilities since he was eight years old, it has been 16 years now and one of the things he is diagnosed with is autism. I can tell you that he has been a joy to me since the beginning. It has been a struggle at times but I wouldn’t change a moment of it.

  20. I love your books. As a mother with a child who has grown up with special needs , know first hand the fight to keep them safe from others words and actions . You are a wonderful person to take your time for this cause . I raise golden doodles for autism and other children’s with special needs as well as wounded warriors . Your son is very lucky to have you .Again thank you for your courage to share your family’s story

  21. Amber you are an inspiration not just to parents that have autistic children but to all parents. You keep doing what you are doing and live your life with that little boy to the best of your ability and he will be a better person and keep all of the innocence and sweetness at the surface so everyone else can benefit from it. You and RJ are doing great things and it will help other parents and children in the long run.

  22. Can’t wait for the new book (will definitely be on the look out). Hugs to you and your family! My daughter is on the autism spectrum, high functioning and it scares the heck out of me. She is such a smart little girl and we get a lot of commentary from family and friends about how if you didn’t know, you couldn’t tell that she was autistic.

  23. My godson is high functioning and the family also had to push for services as well. He is now getting appropriate therapies and doing great.

  24. I am looking forward to reading Unexpected Alpha.
    Thanks for sharing your story with us and raising awareness of autism. I had no idea that statistically it had become so common.

  25. There is a lot of prejudice and misunderstanding about autism that would disappear if people knew a bit more about it. Projects like this are important to shed light on this topic. Thank you for supporting it.

  26. I had no idea that there was such a high rate of autism. I think it’s awesome that you are publishing a book and giving all the proceeds to charity for autism – I know I’ll be buying a copy as soon as it is available. I don’t have children but know several people who have autistic children and have seen that even though there is a struggle because of so much prejudice, these children all want the same things – love and acceptance.

  27. Amber thanks for the very insight full post. It is amazing that there is still so much unknown to so many about autism and I applaud all you do to bring more awareness to it. Thank you from a family that also struggled with it

  28. One of my cousin’s children is high functioning autism. He is a great kid and his mom has worked with him for years in order for him to be able to advocate for himself. He has just been accepted at college with a sports scholarship after being interviewed by the coach and explaining his needs to the coach. Yeah! So thanks for spreading the word, all aspects of autism need to be discussed and researched to help our kids do well.

  29. I think it’s great to see authors giving & bringing awareness to causes that are close to their hearts & that they are passionate about.

  30. My niece has worked with autistic children and she has made all the family much more aware of this issue.

  31. One of my sons has Aspergers Syndrome. He was diagnosed until he was 16 and it made perfect sense once he was diagnosed. It was very late for treatment, but he is high functioning and has learned how to live and work with it. He is married and living a happy life. One I never anticipated. The years from 6 – 18 were a difficult and some may say nightmarish, but well worth it. I hope your son grows up to as happy and successful as mine did.

  32. Thanks for your post and bringing more awareness to Autism. I know different people with autistic kids and the kids can vary so much.

  33. I have a friend who has an autistic son and she has to fight to get into programs that help him, but she’s tough and he’s made great progress.

  34. Great post and good on you, as a mother of a son who is multipled disabled (because of brain damage due to a premature birth) and has also autism i’m very thankful to all the authors who help raise awareness. So thank you !

  35. Thanks for sharing about your son, Amber. I can understand how frustrating it is to get doctors to listen sometimes. I love that you, R.J., and so many others are doing this hop and other things to bring awareness. I will definitely be buying a copy of Unexpected Alpha and helping out where I can.

  36. I hadn’t considered that the other end of the spectrum would have its own problems. My two are on the lower end–both nonverbal. My son and my daughter were diagnosed at 4 and 1 respectively.

  37. That’sounds awesome, can’t wait for the Alpha book. Are family is doing the walk on AprIL 25th for our grandson. Thank you for spreading the word of Awareness!

  38. So many wonderful things you are doing to spread awareness and raise money for a great cause. Thank you for the post and for joining in on the hop again this year!

  39. I’ve posted a message yesterday but for some reason it’s not up here so i will do it again 🙂

    As a mother of a boy who (because of brain damage due to a premature birth) is multipled disabled and has also autisme i know how important awareness is so i’m thankful to all the authors such as you who participate in this blog tour to help raise some awareness. Thank You!

  40. I have a cousin that is on the spectrum and I have to admit that because I don’t see him that often, it is difficult to remember what some of his triggers are for meltdowns. I commend you and all the other authors are doing to support awareness of autism.

  41. That’s so wonderful of you! My best friend has two younger brothers with autism and honestly I see it can be hard to deal with. However we all still adore them and wouldn’t change a thing about them. Your son sounds wonderful and I’m glad that he is able to function so well but was also able to eventually be diagnosed.

Comments are closed.