Welcome Birthday Guest RJ Scott!

Zach from The Christmas Throwaway talking about his best birthday memory.

 

My best birthday was when I turned nineteen. It seems like such a long time ago now but it was the best for so many reasons. The actual date of my birthday is the twenty-seventh of December, and yes, I do get some shared presents. Not from family, mostly from friends at the shelter I work at, but that is okay, because a lot of them don’t have much.

I remember when I didn’t have anything except the clothes on my back. I remember laying in the snow on Christmas eve, and dreaming of a Christmas that I’d never had. That was a bad Christmas, and my birthday was kind of lost. I mean, Ben tried, his whole family tried, but I wasn’t in a good place. When I turned eighteen I was still broken.

Does that make any sense?

When I turned nineteen though? That was different. Ben and I had been getting closer, moving slowly, and my birthday that year was when I got him to see that a six year age difference meant nothing when our hearts were so entwined. And now I sound like a girl. Or a song lyric.

You know, I don’t even remember what Ben gave me for my actual birthday, I was still on a high from what we’d done together. We’d started a real boyfriend type relationship and I guess what Ben gave me for my nineteenth birthday was something I never expected any years before.

He gave me the most precious gift I have ever had, besides the year my little sister was born.

He gave me his love.

He gave me his heart.

And I think that is just awesome. Don’t you?

 

The Christmas Throwaway, RJ SCOTT

TCT4x6

Christmas is a time for giving – what do you do when no one gives a damn?

 

For Zachary Weston Christmas means sleeping on a churchyard bench in the freezing snow with nothing better in his future. Thrown out of his home for being gay, he is left without money or, it seems, anywhere to go. Until a stranger shows him that some people do give a lot more than a damn.

 

Ben Hamilton is a rookie cop in his small home town. He finds a young throwaway, fresh from the city, sleeping on a bench in the churchyard on a snowy Christmas Eve. Can he be the one to give Zachary his own Christmas miracle?

 

For buy links and reviews click here: http://rjscottauthor.blogspot.co.uk/2011/10/christmas-throwaway.html

 

Available in e-book, paperback and in audio.

 

Edited to add:  A giveaway!
Comment below and you’ll be entered into a competition to win a signed copy of the Christmas Throwaway…

closing date – Friday 13th 12:00 GMT (London)

65 thoughts on “Welcome Birthday Guest RJ Scott!

  1. Aww, that’s so sweet I’m going into diabetic coma. . But that’s okay, because it reminds me how much I love The Christmas Throway, and how now would be a good time for a re-read.

  2. Someone recently recommended this book…haven’t had a chance yet to read it but it is at the top of my TBR list

  3. Love it! Need to re-read the book as well. The paper copy of the book is in my shopping cart on Amazon to buy. A signed copy would be even better. I’d pay for that.

  4. I read this a while back and love it. Two laptops ago I had it saved to re-read, but, sob no more. I need a new copy badly!

  5. Love this book. I had a chance to hear RJ’s Hubby do a reading from it at my first GRL. It was wonderful. At the time Christmas Throway was the only RJ book I had read. I’ve made up for it since then! Now I think I’m going to have to do a re-read.

  6. I got the e-book and the audiobook last Christmas. I remember listening to the audio on a couple of plane flights. 🙂

  7. What a lovely post. Thanks! I have Christmas Throwaway on my TBR holiday list. Would love to win a copy. 🙂

  8. A very poignant memory. I have not read their story but this really makes me want to.

    I am slowly acquiring the RJ Scott collection so I’ll get to them.

  9. Great book. So many of RJ’s fans say that The Christmas Throwaway is their fav RJ Scott book that I’m surprised they haven’t talked her into writing a sequel. Just a thought Ms. Scott. 😉

  10. This is one of my favorite books. I will have to listen to the audio version. Thanks for the chance at the giveaway.

  11. Loved it!! And now i really want to read The Christmas Throwaway again 🙂 You know that this was one of the books that got me in to m/m romance. Would love to have a signed copy so thank you for the giveaway chance and count me in.

    ahpg(at)ziggo(dot)nl

  12. I think The Christmas Throwaway was the first of your books I ever read. It would be so fun to have a signed copy to read it again!

  13. I read this story and it was awesome. I hope we get to revist them sometime as I would love to see how they are doing.

  14. Believe it or not, I just re-read this story last week! I had been thinking about the story and it took me a little while to go through my books (over 2000) before I could find the story, but I am so glad I did, and I thoroughly enjoyed getting acquainted again with the characters.

  15. I loved The Christmas Throwaway! Thanks for bringing up the memories. I think it’s time to reread this gem. It’s one of my favorites from RJ along with The Decisions We Make (which I’m still begging RJ for a sequel!!!).

  16. LOVE RJ Scott’s books and “The Christmas Throwaway” is one of my favorites. Thanks so much for the birthday memory.

  17. OMG! THAT… was absolutely beautiful!!
    It’s been a long time since I red Christmas throwaway. aw! I love these guys!

Comments are closed.