Welcome Birthday Guest Shira Anthony!

Birthday bash 2016 icon

 

Merman Birthday Wishes!

Happy birthday, Amber! Thanks for inviting me to share in the fun this year. I’ve got one of my favorite characters here with me. Taren Laxley is a merman shifter, an Ea, MermeanofEa2although he grew up as an indentured servant, believing he was human. He is the focal character of the Mermen of Ea Trilogy and the reincarnation of the ancient Ea priest, Treande. Together with his mate, Ian Dunaidh, Taren and Ian race to save their people from a bloody and protracted civil war and from the humans who threaten their very existence.

Shira: Welcome, Taren! Thanks for joining me today.

Taren: Happy birthday, Amber! I heard you like dragons. I have a friend who’s—

Shira: No spoilers, Taren.

Taren: All right. *frowns*

Shira: So, Taren, can you share for us a birthday memory of your own?

Taren: I never knew people celebrated birthdays until I joined the crew of the Sea Witch. Bastian, the Witch’s quartermaster, and I shopped for gifts for Captain Rider. It was the first I’d heard of celebrating the day of someone’s birth.

Shira: Why are you blushing, Taren?

Taren: Well… er… the gift we purchased for Rider was of a…ah… romantic nature.

Shira: Romantic?

Taren: Can we please move on?

Shira: Sure. How do Ea celebrate birthdays?

Taren: The Ea traditionally give offerings to the goddess in honor of birthdays. Since there are no more priests, Ea will light the branches of fragrant trees and toss the burning limbs into the water.

Shira: Are there any other Ea traditions for birthdays?

Taren: *blushes again* I… I’d rather not say here. Some of the traditions are very… ah… private.

Shira: All right then! I’ll leave you all to imagine what sorts of *coughs* “traditions” Taren is referring to. And if you’re interested, you can read a bit about how those “traditions” might happen between mermen in their shifted forms on my blog as well as an NSFW excerpt here: http://www.shiraanthony.com/?p=3812

Happy birthday, Amber!!

Shira’s latest release is A Solitary Man, coauthored with Aisling Mancy and just released from Dreamspinner Press! You can purchase the book here: Dreamspinner Press, ARe, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.

SolitaryMan[A]FSBlurb: Sparks fly when Chance meets tall, sexy Xav at a Wilmington bar and they have the hottest one-nighter of their lives. But Chance doesn’t do repeats, Xav seems detached, and they go their separate ways without a word. Later, when closeted Assistant District Attorney C. Evan “Chance” Fairchild meets Dare’s Landing’s newest deputy sheriff, Xavier “Xav” Constantine, Evan isn’t only wary. He’s irritated as hell.

Xavier is a former FBI agent turned deputy sheriff who is hot on the trail of a South American child prostitution ring. Evan is fighting to put an end to rampant cocaine trafficking and chafing under the thumb of an election-hungry boss. When someone tries to kill the eleven-year-old witness who holds the key to both their investigations, they’re forced to work together as they put their lives on the line to protect him. As Chance and Xav collide in the heat of a sweltering North Carolina summer, dodging bullets and chasing bad guys isn’t the only action going on.

About Shira: In her last incarnation, Shira was a professional opera singer, performing roles in such operas as “Tosca,” “i Pagliacci,” and “La Traviata,” among others. She’s given up TV for evenings spent with her laptop, and she never goes anywhere without a pile of unread M/M romance on her Kindle.

Shira is married with two children and two insane dogs, and when she’s not writing she is usually in a courtroom trying to make the world safer for children. When she’s not working, she can be found aboard a 36’ catamaran at the Carolina coast with her favorite sexy captain at the wheel.

 

Shira is giving away a copy of Book 1 or 2 of the Mermen of Ea series in audiobook or ebook (winner’s choice)! Leave a comment for Shira to enter!

 

 

 

60 thoughts on “Welcome Birthday Guest Shira Anthony!

  1. The Ea books sound great as does The Solitary Man. Guess thats a few more to add to that ever growing wishlist.
    *Decides that it might be a good idea to avoid Amber’s birthday month next year *

  2. Oh! I love Ian amd Tarren. I remember him buying that “oh-so-personal” present for Rider and Bastian… Thank you for the sweet memento! 😉

  3. Wow Shira! You have certainly lived an extremely interesting life!! I wonder what made you get into the M/M genre? Being a professional opera singer (I LOVE Opera!!) it seems a huge jump! Thank you for your Wonderful books (In my wish list and will be bought next week) and the fantastic work you’re doing for children. Huge Hugs!!!

    1. Thanks, Blaine! I always loved to write, and a friend suggested writing a story that combined my music background. That led to the Blue Notes Series from Dreamspinner Press. I knew a lot of gay men in the classical music world, so it seemed like the perfect subject to write about. Mermen… well, that’s an entirely different story. Hehehe! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Looks like an interesting series and I’m fascinated with the EA traditions. 😀. Thanks for the introduction to your boojs

  5. Have the ebooks and the first audiobook so would like the 2nd audiobook if i win. (got too impatient after listening to the first one…) Love the series. AND, I would love to hear more about a certain dragon… 😉

    1. That dragon has been tapping at the back of my brain for months now, wanting his own story! He’s definitely on my list, Kim! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Thank you for the interview, it was great. Thank ypu also for the great giveaway chance! I know I have the first book, but I need to read it. Bumping it up on my TBR list now. 🙂

  7. I don’t know how I missed these books before…. Now I need to correct that. They certainly look like fun!

  8. The interview certainly caught my attention. At least the first book will go in my next purchase batch. Thanks for participating and bringing the Mermen of Ea to my attention.

  9. I absolutely LOVE the sound of these! I haven’t read any books with mermen before so I will definitely be reading these as soon as possible.

  10. Thanks for the interview/excerpt. (Aww, you embarrassed poor Taren. 😉 Cute interview ) I haven’t seen too many lawyer-cop stories, so that looks interesting.

  11. Congrats on the release. I’ve been looking forward to reading A Solitary Man. I haven’t gotten to start the Mermen series, but they are on my TBR list. I’d love the chance to pick up a copy.

Comments are closed.