Welcome Birthday Guest Andrew Grey!

Birthday bash 2016 icon

Hello, this is Andrew Grey and I want to take a minute to thank Amber for having me and to wish her a Happy Birthday.  I have the pleasure of seeing Amber two or three times a year and it’s always a great deal of fun.  She’s such an upbeat, energetic person that you just want to spend time with her.  She and her husband are both so generous with their time and their company.  It’s so amazingly awesome!

As an author, one of the things we do in these blog posts is talk about our latest release.  And frankly I’m running out of things to say.  I’ve written multiple guest blog posts, put things on Facebook, my own blog, Tweeted, Instagramed, and god knows what else by now.  So in this blog post I’m going to talk about…  Jesus!  Yes you guessed it.  I’m so damn boring that if I can’t talk about my latest release I may as well shut the hell up.  So what to talk about?  I could always go back to talking about Amber or the fact that I’ll be working with her next month.  She and my alter ego, Dirk Greyson are going to write a story together.  That’s’ pretty awesome.

Aw hell, I guess I’m going to have to break my own rule and talk about my release.  Wait, how about if I just put the blurb and an excerpt below.  You can look if you want and if not, then… well… I think I’m going to shut up now.  You can be relieved, its perfectly okay, after all I am.  Happy Birthday Amber!!!!

Okay.  I’ll shut up shutting up.

 

eyes

Amazon | Dreamspinner Press

 

Eyes Only For Me

For years, Clayton Potter’s been friends and workout partners with Ronnie. Though Clay is attracted, he’s never come on to Ronnie because, let’s face it, Ronnie only dates women.

When Clay’s father suffers a heart attack, Ronnie, having recently lost his dad, springs into action, driving Clay to the hospital over a hundred miles away. To stay close to Clay’s father, the men share a hotel room near the hospital, but after an emotional day, one thing leads to another, and straight-as-an-arrow Ronnie make a proposal that knocks Clay’s socks off! Just a little something to take the edge off.

Clay responds in a way he’s never considered. After an amazing night together, Clay expects Ronnie to ignore what happened between them and go back to his old life. Ronnie surprises him and seems interested in additional exploration. Though they’re friends, Clay suddenly finds it hard to accept the new Ronnie and suspects that Ronnie will return to his old ways. Maybe they both have a thing or two to learn.

 

 

Excerpt:

Ronnie led the way to the elevators and then down to the main floor. The hospital was a maze of departments and halls that went on forever, intersecting with others that also seemed to go as far as the eye could see. We didn’t talk, and as my nerves ramped up, I moved faster and faster. Ronnie kept up with me until sweat broke out on the back of my neck. Then I slowed and stopped, wondering where in the hell I was.

“Let’s head back. We’re on the other side of the hospital,” Ronnie told me. He turned and led me back. “You know, whatever happens, it’s going to be okay. I bellyache sometimes, and I miss my dad, but it will be okay.” Ronnie stopped walking and turned to me. “After the funeral there were times when I wanted to die. I thought about taking my own life more than once.” He blinked a few times, and I yanked him into a hug, cradling his head in my hands. I expected him to pull away, but he held me back. “It was the meds and the OCD going overboard. I know that now, but I felt like I couldn’t go on.”

“But you could. We were all there for you. I was there.”

“You were, and I remember you coming over, watching television with me.”

“You were in bed, and I….”

“You lay next to me for hours. We didn’t talk, just watched television.”

“As I remember it was car racing or something.” I released him and stepped back.

“I knew that day that you loved me,” Ronnie said, and I stiffened. Had I been so transparent? “You’re my good friend, and I love you for that. I found out who my true friends were after my dad died.”

“I know.” I’d seen him cut people out of his circle after that. They just seemed to disappear.

Ronnie began walking again. He didn’t talk, and for that I was grateful. Some time alone with my thoughts was appreciated, but too much would drive me out of my mind. We reached the elevator and took it back up to the ICU floor.

24 thoughts on “Welcome Birthday Guest Andrew Grey!

Comments are closed.