Welcome Birthday Guest Stephani Hecht!

Birthday bash 2016 icon

Hello, my name is Stephani Hecht and sitting across from me is, Corey, one of the brothers from my Dire Wolf series. Corey, wave to the crowd.

Corey flips everyone off. His expression menacing with more than a dash of boredom.

Stephani: That’s not very nice. Where are your manners?

Corey: Please, you know me. Rudeness is one of my better qualities. Along, with my dark, brooding, good looks that would be fit perfectly for a CW series. The Arrow and those guys from Supernatural have nothing on me.

Stephani: *sigh* You promised me you weren’t going to be cocky and actually cooperate during this interview.

Corey: I promised that I would try to be good. That’s a different thing.

Stephani: Okay, let’s try and start this again. What’s it like coming from a family where all four brothers are gay?

Corey: It can be hell at times. Like for example when The Advocate arrives in the mail, there is always mass chaos. We all fight over it. There’s even been times when blood has been drawn. Okay, maybe that was a bit snarky. I’ll give you an honest answer. My father never knew who we really were, since he and Ma died in a car accident.

Stephani: How do you think he would have reacted if he had found out the truth?

Corey: It wouldn’t have been a Hallmark moment that I’m sure of.

Stephani: What do you think his reaction would have been?

Corey: There would have been some serious ass kicking. While me, Bishop and Darien would have been able to take it. The whole thing would have broken Angel. That I just wouldn’t have been able to allow. There’s not that many Dires that I can tolerate, but Angel is the exception. I’ve always felt it was my job to guard him.

Stephani: Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t Angel mated now?

Corey: True, but that doesn’t make that feeling go away. He’s my youngest brother. That protective mode is still as strong as ever.

Stephani: I heard through various sources that you are one of the toughest Betas in your pack, but you fight like an animal who’s out of control.

Corey: *leans forward in his seat* Let’s get one thing straight. Yes, I may fight in an untraditional manner and I won’t win the knight in shining award. I do what I have to in order to make sure that my family and pack are safe. Plus, if you get the reputation as a crazy motherfucker, then Dires begin to fear you. Which makes other packs think twice before they attack us.

Stephani: So, you have this whole badass attitude. Does that mean that there isn’t anything you’re afraid off?

Corey: Next question, please.

Stephani: Why do I have the feeling that once you meet your mate, he’s going to bring you to your knees?

Corey: That’s not going to ever happen?

Stephani: Why would you say that?

Corey: I don’t have the capacity to love.

Stephani: I call bullshit on that one. You love your brothers.

Corey: That’s only because they’re blood, so that doesn’t count.

Stephani: What if I write in a mate for you?

Corey: You wouldn’t do that. There is no way you would make some unlucky sap go through all that suffering. If somebody grew feelings for me then it would soon turn into a curse. I was made for one thing only and that’s to fight and kill. Who in the hell would want to be hooked up with something like that?

Stephani: *decides to change the subject, after all, she is the writer and she’ll do whatever she damn well pleases* Can you think of your best birthday memory?

Corey: I don’t have one. *pauses for a moment* Wait, I do. I think it was when I had my seventh birthday. My mom knew how much I loved that old cartoon G.I. Joe. She made the whole party themed around it. She even bought fake, plastic guns and hand grenades. We spent hours playing war with each other. I think I got fifty kills that day.

Stephani: Wait a minute. Are you actually smiling?

Corey: Why is that so surprising to you. I do get happy from time-to-time.

Stephani: And what about the spaces in between?

Corey: That’s when I realize just how fucked up this world is and then I get angry again.

Deck the Dire Wolves-Cover

Read more about Corey in my next book, Deck the Dire Wolves. It’s coming out at MLR Press on the second of December. You can preorder it at Amazon or Are now. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B018DE8Q0U/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_m.5uwb0NYM1HG

At this moment, I would like to take a pause and remember all the people who were killed or injured during the most recent terrorist attack on Paris. My thoughts and prayer go out to all of you and I hope someday that we’ll be able to overcome this kind of cowardly deed. Until then I want all of you to know that we are by your side and you have all our love and support.

 

 

 

34 thoughts on “Welcome Birthday Guest Stephani Hecht!

  1. I know this is going to sound bad but did I miss this series ???? How many are there and what is the name of them??? I thought I had everything you have put out. I’m pouting and feeling lost. LOL.

  2. I LOVED the first Dire Wolves books ‘The Dire Wolf Who Stole My Heart’ and I’m soo looking forward to ‘Deck the Dire Wolves’, I have my copy preordered from ARe 😀

    yes I’m in the silly buggar that thought the email from ARe announcing it’s release meant I could download it straight away, then got depressed cause once I checked out and got back to my library at ARe it had preorder under it *pouts* 8 days is too long to wait for it.

  3. Another book for my TBR list. I think I should head for the bank and ask for a loan soon. But I don’t think wanting to buy lots of books is really a good reason to put on the application 😉

  4. Was so excited when I saw you have a new book coming out. I will get it as a birthday present to myself, because it comes out the day before my birthday so yahoooo.

  5. Ooohhhh Corey is going to be soooo pissed at you!!!! On the wish list for sure!!! Wonderful hearing from you!!! (And agree with you on the Paris attack. Many Blessings to ALL) XOXO!!!

  6. I loved the interview, I can’t wait to read more about Corey. I loved his comparison to two of my favorite TV shows and how you decided that you were just going to do whatever you pleased when it comes to Corey getting a mate. Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.