152 thoughts on “A Year of eBooks Contest!

  1. I tend not to make new years resolutions because I know I will not keep them for more than a day or two. I figure why lie to myself that I’m gonna try and lose weight or eat better. But this year I and gonna try and eat better that way I might be able to lose a few pounds.

  2. My New Years resolution is to try and listen to my daughter better. To hear what she is really saying and not what I think she is saying.

  3. My new year resolution is to lose about 5kg and to exercise more the longest I have stuck to one would be 2 months
    I hope you have a Happy New Year

  4. I will try to exercise is what my 2016 goal is. Never really set a goal for the new year so this will be a first.

  5. The New Year after my divorce I resolved to never see the jerk again and by golly I’ve kept that one for over 20 years.

  6. I don’t usualy make new years resolutions, but I do make resolutions in other points in my life. To some of them I stuck for a long time (for example – exercise) and some didn’t realy stuck 😦

    Since 2016 wasn’t an easy year for me, My (somewhat abstruct) new year’s resolution is that 2016 is going to be a good year…

    fingers crossed this one will stick

  7. Go to the gym… I hate gyms, I like running on the outside, but my timetable makes it sometimes difficult. That’s why the gym is a much reasonable option. As a general rule, I stick to my resolutions… (but I somehow fear I won’t be going to the gym that much…)

  8. I normally don’t make New Years resolution, but this year is my seven year mark so I need to make this resolution. You see my doctor has this theory that you have 7 years after you give birth to your last child to lose the weight you gained from your pregnancy. So I’m on my seven year so my resolution is to lose 60 lbs.
    My last resolution was back in 2004 and that was to quit smoking and I am proud to say I’m still standing strong. I quit cold turkey and haven’t looked back.

  9. I dont usally make ones cause i always forget i made it to begain with.. though this year mine will be… Go to the doctors when needed to dont wait 2 weeks.

  10. I don’t make New Year resolutions as I’m still holding to the one I made many years ago.
    It was the resolution to ‘never again put myself under stress keeping a resolution and therefore to never make another’.

  11. Hm…to get fitish more for my mental health then anything else.

    And I’d say about 2 months, lol

  12. To actually finish my portfolio and actually send my application this year… Ugh, I’m getting older than the normal shifting applicants…

    As for the second one, haha, I don’t even remember ever sticking to a New Year’s resolution(usually to actually exercise) for longer than four months…

  13. To follow a healthier diet. I am, unfortunately, not very good at keeping resolutions and they only last for a couple of months before I break!

  14. My New Year’s resolution is to start doing more. I do small ad hoc bits of charity work (giving homeless people food and clothes when I am on holiday, contribute to work charity events etc) but this year I want to make more of an organised effort. Do it more regularly or find a group to give my energy to – there is a place in the city that helps support LGBTI youth by providing them a safe place to hang out, people to talk to and events to attend. To make it work long term, I would be looking for the same time of thing, but closer to home. I also want to do more with my teen, more with my partner to meet our family goals and more for myself to improve my physical and mental well-being to be there for everyone.

  15. My New Year’s resolution is to take better care of myself and do more. I usually don’t make resolutions but this year I want to do more and be better so I’m going to make myself a priority.

  16. It’s been a long time since I’ve made a New Year’s resolution because I already have enough problems with depression as it is. I try to make a new day resolution though, it’s always the same. Try to live for this day and work my best not to borrow tomorrow’s trouble.

  17. Losing weight and get fitter. Though I think this is more a wish than a resolution, given how many times I’ve tried. I think longest I’ve lasted is about 6 months.

  18. I haven’t decided if I will make one or not. In the past I have and had trouble keeping it. So last year I didn’t and lost 35 lbs. So maybe this “not making one” is the way to go..lol

  19. to stay positive in all that I do and in all my actions, Not to go think negative. the longest I done my resolutions is about 3 months. till my birthday then I usually give up πŸ™‚ this yeat goal is the whole year to step forward always in a positive way!!
    Leenie

  20. This year I decided to change jobs, I was so unhappy, I’d go to work in tears most days, so that was my new year’s resolution and as of December 1st, I am a police officer and sooooooooo happy! So yeah, I managed to stick it out 11 months!

  21. Every year is the same – get into shape – lose weight. I’m going to make this year last longer than 1 week!

  22. Trying to lose weight last a month. But this year I started it in November 1st and am doing really good so far started at 205 now down to 176. I hope to keep it going way into the new year. Hope everyone can meet there resolutions

  23. My resolution is to lose 50 lbs. My husband is doing it with me and we are starting next weekend. We still have a few more gatherings to attend, so we can’t start on NEW YEARS. I’ve never made a resolution before, so we’ll see how it goes.

  24. I’m not a big resolution person because I have problems sticking to them. I’m sure I’ve vowed to lose weight and all that good stuff before and never stuck to it. This year, my goal isn’t number oriented per se. I want to focus on getting healthier by cooking healthy food more frequently and moving more.

  25. Last years resolution was to say yes to things I usually wanted to do but said no to because I didn’t have money or time or just was afraid to do, but I stuck to it all last year and had a great year and plan to keep it up this year. However this years resolution is to try and safe some money every week.

  26. My resolution was to have less stuff and to do more THINGS with family and friends. I think I did pretty well! I think I’ll keep that idea going into the new year.

  27. De-clutter. Last year it was to quit smoking. Took me over 8 months to do it, but it’s finally done! Now to de-clutter the house and start painting..woo hoo

  28. To Lose 150 pds and get myself healthy so my doctors are happy with me and I am happy with myself. And to get my Knee fixed so I can walk without extreme pain.

  29. I need to lose weight. I say this every year and only last around a month before I go back to how it was before. This year as I always say will be different. My son he would stop smoking if I kept with it and lost weight. This is a bonus so I hope it is enough motivation to keep me on track.

  30. You mean it’s not to read more books? Really, to have better eating habits (mine are the *worst*). I’m not sure, I don’t tend to make New Years Resolutions, so I’m not sure how long I stuck with one (when I did make one).

  31. Same as every year: to exercise at least 4x a week. Last year I kept it up until my family visited in August.

  32. To be happy being me and be in a healthier environment. My longest lasting New Years resolution was to stop smoking. That was 24 years ago.

  33. I have never made a New Years resolution. If I were to make one this year I guess it would be to visit my grandma as much as possible.

  34. My New Years resolutions are usually simple, like ‘live healthier’ or ‘Spend more time with the kids’. Generic enough so I can quantify them moderately successful throughout the year….even if I never manage to do the specific things I would like to do (like run at least 3 times a week) – but that is why they are never part of the resolution itself!

  35. I usually last about one or two months but I have to do something about my health. This is the year I shall. The problem is that I have sooo many food sensitivities that there is nothing good left to eat.

  36. Plan to get back into an exercise program. How long it lasts is variable, it depends on how busy I am and how realistic the goal was. It can be days to months.

  37. To spend more time with my kids. To have us do more things as a family. Also to stop talking to the like my mother did. Have made it a whole year. As o I’m hope to do it again.

  38. I don’t usually make resolutions but this year I’m going to try my best to lose some weight and exercise more.

  39. It was a tough year, I had ups (my daughter getting into the college of her choice) and downs (filing for divorce) and learnt alot about myself. This year my resolution is to learn even more. To become stronger. To accept who I am and feel good about it. To know that it is okay to be scared and okay to accept a helping hand from a friend. And to know that no matter what, you always have your family.

  40. This years New Year’s resolution ( & for the last 3 years) is to make sure that I not only meet my short-term weight goals but to make sure I reward myself (with non foods!) to keep motivated. So far I’ve rewarded myself with a membership to loseit!, a fitbit, an aria, and the latest one – a new dress. Works awesome and keeps me going all year!

  41. In self defense I make one – and only one – resolution every year and I have never been tempted to break it: “I won’t throw stones at whales…” πŸ™‚

  42. To lose weight and become healthier in general. I usually last only a couple weeks to a month, but I’m hoping that with less specific goals, I’ll be able to stick with their intent at least this year.

  43. My goal /new years resolution is to maintain my weight loss of 162 pounds that I’ve lost with weightless surgery 21 months ago. I will exercise more so I can participate in the 5k color run. It will be my first one! I’m 43 years old and I totally SUCK at sticking to my resolutions. This will be different well at least I think it will be different. Happy New Years to you and your family!!

  44. My resolution this year is to finish a novel. I usually get 10-20 thousand words before I lose steam… While most of my exercise and diet resolutions barely lasted a month, my non-exercise and diet resolutions usually work because I give myself a goal that I then work towards finishing.

  45. I usually don’t make resolutions, but this I resolve to get rid of some stuff. I don’t qualify for a Hoarders episode… Yet.

    And read more. I have only one good eye left. Thank god for portable readers with scalable fonts.

  46. M y New Y ear’s Resolution is to do better in my online college classes then I did before when I physically attended college, find a job in the field I want to get into (creative writing and english) preferably as an editor, and work on taking better care of myself physically. The longest I’ve ever lasted with a resolution was in high school and that was for 7-8 months

  47. My resolution is to work out more and eat better! My resolutions normally last around 4 months, but I’m hoping this one will last all year!

  48. I don’t usually make a resolution…can’t stand the pressure! But staying caught up with my bookkeeping would be nice.

  49. I’m not big in making (& not achieving) “resolutions”. I have worked in 2015 to keep moving, walking 1/2hr per work day & I’ve kept that up for this year & will continue into 2016+

  50. My New Years resolution is to get down to my target weight this year, as I have to fit into my bridesmaid dress in June. I know I can do this as I lost a stone and half in 6 months last year.

  51. Sadly, I need to excersize and diet and lose at least 100 lbs. Depressing to say the least! the longest I have stuck to a resolution in the past is probably about 3-4 months. I really need to make this years a life long one. Hopefully luck will be on my side this year.

  52. I usually resolve to be more organised but this year I am being more realistic. I want to get my sewing room organised before Mardi Gras and keep it that way. When I was young and working in a deli kitchen I asked to be allowed to waitress because I wanted a crack at the tips. I lasted about 40 minutes before giving up and that year I resolved to treat wait staff better than I had been and I believe I have kept that resolution since-33years. I know I passed it to friends.

  53. The only resolution that I have made that I have stuck to is to quit drinking soda pop. Going on 12 years now for that one. I would like to lose 15kg this year and work up to walking at least 30km a week.

  54. My resolution from last year was to cut out eating chocolate and limit drinking chocolate to one a day max. I have stuck to it all year, although Easter and Christmas were hard.

    My resolution for this year is to stop putting off my writing until the last moment, then having to rush to finish stories for submission calls or missing them all together.

  55. I have two very important resolutions this year. The first is to lose weight for my sister’s upcoming wedding and the second is to continue my writing. I have a lot of ideas and I hope to at least flesh one out.

  56. Sadly I don’t normally make New Year’s resolutions. But this year I’ve decided to make more time for the kiddo.

  57. Write more books. And this year I’m not going to say lose weight, but I’m going for getting stronger, leaner and more toned. (hoping that will cause the weight to drop too)

  58. I’d normally say diet, but this year I’m just going for a more healthy lifestyle. I’m hoping that by changing my mindset, it will be easier to stick to it.

  59. I no longer try to have New Year’s resolutions – but have goals that I am continuously working on. Because New Year’s resolutions just never lasted! But my goals are working for me!

  60. My New Year’s Resolution is to spend more time with my family with my boys becoming men they’re rarely home so I need more family time/vacations with them before they leave the nest for good.

  61. To reduce my TBR pile and not add as many as last year. I try for the same resolution every year and I do reduce but I add just as many if not more. I think I lasted 2 weeks this year before buying more books.

  62. This year’s resolution is to exercise more. I’ve managed to stick to a resolution for a about six of months…

  63. My resolution is to go for a run once a week. I got a wake-up call this year that I needed to get in better shape: I’ve made it 3 months so far – and my goal is to run every week in 2016!

  64. I have two New Year’s resolutions. The first is to (finally) finish my dissertation, the second is to stop complaining so much. The longest I’ve held a resolution was actually longer than a year. It was to lose 60 pounds, took me a little more than a year but I did it. That’s the only resolution I’ve kept more than a few weeks!

  65. I’ve never made a New Year’s resolution before. I am going to try to be healthier this year. It’s not so much a resolution as a multifaceted goal.

  66. This year’s resolution is to just be; be better, be present, be in the moment. I’ve taken so much for granted, especially from myself that some days it seems like there is no end to things. I need to just be. And the longest I have kept a resolution is six months, I made some at mid-year this year and have kept it so far.

  67. I quit smoking for 8 years was longes. As a high school teen I decided I would wear a dress once a week to school in the 19th grade. And I lived in Michigan and walked to school. But I did make it through the entire year. This year I need to loss weight after my fractured ankle heals.

  68. I haven’t made a New Year’s resolution in years. I never stick to them so it’s not worth it to get mad at myself. The longest time I have stuck to one was back in high school. My New Year’s resolution at that time was to lose weight and I stuck with it for 6 months.

  69. My resolution this year is to work to get a little healthier. I am not going with losing weight because so far that hasnt worked out. But making some strides in at least making healthier choices. If not all the time but at least some of the time. I have never managed to keep a resolution more than a month.

  70. I tend to not make New Years Resolutions because i know I will break them but this year I am going to go on a strict diet. I have put on quite a bit of weight and so has my son so I figured we’d do it together.

  71. I don’t make New Year Resolutions it was my Resolution about five years ago and it’s still going strong!!!

  72. My resolutions is to lose weight and I can keep a resolution about two months before I start to fail.

  73. 2016 – get at least 1 MCSE certification for server 2012 – chat’s 5 tests. Longest I have every made it is 4 months, regardless I will get one if not 2 MCSE ‘s (2 more tests for total of 7 tests).

  74. I used to make them all the time but I never managed to keep them and would only get mad at myself. This year I think I am going to try for more patience but know that’s not realistic. The longest I ever keep one up is a few days.

  75. I intend to skype more with my
    daughter and grandchildren. I don’t see them often because I live in the south of England and they live in the north,I am missing them growing.

  76. To walk on my treadmill everyday for at least 30-40 minutes. I have never kept a resolution for longer than 3 months in the past.

  77. My New Years Resolutions for this year is to loose this weight and start working out 3 times a week.
    The longest I have kept a NYR is for one year. It was 10 years ago when I joined a gym, since I had to pay for that one I got my $$$ worth.

  78. My New Years Resolution is to eat healthier and lose weight. Most of the time I don’t keep resolutions more than 2 months.

  79. My New Years Resolution is to eat healthy food (in reasonable quantities according to my nutritionist & doctor) and exercise starting once a week and working up to three times a week. By following these actions I hope to be on my way to a healthier weight this time next year! I have stuck to New Years Resolutions for up to a whole year in the past! This is one that has to be stuck to otherwise it will seriously start impacting my quality of life!

  80. to quit gambling so I can get money saved to take a trip home. Haven’t seen my Sis in around 10 yrs.
    Made the same last year and lasted 2 &1/2 months. Gotta go longer this time if I’m going to make a visit back to In.

  81. I am going to try to take care of myself better emotionally and ask for help more. I haven’t stuck to too many resolutions for more than a couple of months (up to 4 months) before, but I’m hoping that something that I need will help me stick with it this time.

  82. My resolution is to cut out the chips. I eat to many of them. But it only last till the first store with
    chips.

  83. I’m not really good at New Years resolutions so I try not to do that. This year I had three and it wasn’t as successful as I had hoped so next year I’m not making any. I’m going to say that my new years resolution died a fiery death before it could even get it itself standing.

  84. This years resolution is to get healthy. It’s the same as last years resolution. I lasted 9 months last year watching my diet and exercising. I managed to lose 50 pounds in 2015. I have about another 50 to go and hope to get that done this year.

  85. My New Years resolution is to find small ways to make my kids happy. We have had a hard couple of years and I plan to make this one better even in just little things like a movie night at the theater. I have never really made any in the past because I know I would never keep it up unless it was a really good reason like me kids.

  86. To take better care of my health. How long I last usually depends on how important the resolution is to me.

  87. To enjoy today and worry about tomorrow less. The longest I have lasted is 2 months although I hope to make this one last all year.

  88. My resolution is to get healthier, that’s eating and exercising. I’m still doing some slight exercising from last years resolution but it is patchy.

  89. I promised myself that I’d try to get healthier. Last year my resolution was to go on a diet and it lasted for about two months. I figured that getting healthier was something earlier to stick to the whole year around. Happy New Year everyone!!

  90. My resolution for 2016 is to read one book I already have for each new one I buy πŸ™‚ Then maybe I can get through some of my TBR mountain!

  91. I usually don’t make a New Year’s Resolution because I feel like most of the time you don’t end up sticking with them. But this year I’ve decided that I’m going to make one. I’ve decided to lose at least 30 lbs. I haven’t been very happy with myself. I’ve given so much of myself to being a good wife and mother that I feel like I’ve put myself on the back burner. I’m just gonna have to learn how to juggle all those things and myself at the same time. So I freaking ready to do this and be happy with me by the time my next birthday comes around. Good luck to everyone and there resolutions. I hope everyone can stick with them. Happy New Year’s y’all.

  92. My New Years resolution is to train at least once a week. This is my first new year resolution. Happy New Year!!!πŸŽ†πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‡πŸŽŠ

  93. My resolution? to finish at least 1 project a month (I sew & quilt & have multiple UFO’s..) and to actually make something for me this year!
    Longest I have stuck to a resolution? about 2 months…

  94. To be more healthy. The longest I’ve stuck with one would probably be about six months. But this year will be different! πŸ™‚

  95. I haven’t made one this year. Lol. I made one last year that I would get into shape & I was doing good at it bit then I got pregnant & I just said forget it. Lol

  96. I don’t usually make resolutions because they don’t stick, I just every day remind myself that today will be better than the day before – and sometimes it works. HAPPY NEW YEAR

  97. My New Year’s resolution is to work on my procrastination problem. Last year my resolution was to work on my health and weight problems. I have now lost 50 pounds of fat and have improved my back problems.

  98. My resolution is to make healthier choices; taking the stairs, grabbing a piece of fruit, or getting on the treadmill.

    I haven’t really made New Year’s resolutions so I don’t have a time frame that it’s lasted.

  99. I’m lame – my resolution is to be healthier, but I’m just going with exercise more and drink more water. I don’t usually make resolutions, so hopefully I can stick to this one!

  100. This year’s resolution is to take a 30 minute walk every day. 4 years ago I resolved to quit smoking and I haven’t had a cigarette since! Ok, I admit, that was unusual for me. I generally last about 30 days, but I’m glad I was able to stick to that one.

  101. My longest is 4 years and counting. In December, 2011 I swore when I went back to school in the spring of 2012, I was going to take things slow and keep my grades up. I still have 3 semesters left (I’m only taking 6-8 credits a semester) and my grades are all 90%+. That’s great success for a resolution.

Comments are closed.