Welcome Birthday Guest Dirk Greyson!

present2

Birthdays around my house are always rather special because of the cake.  Dominic was a pastry chef for over a decade so the first question I’m always asked is what kind of cake do I want.  The answer varies from year to year.  The last few years its been carrot cake.  He makes the best carrot cake.  I love the stuff. Before that it was chocolate cake with fudge icing.  Talk about a chocolate overload sugar coma.  For my nieces birthday this year she got pink cupcakes with strawberry frosting and they were really good.  So I’m really torn this year about what I’m going to ask for.  See Amber and I share a birthday month.  Mine is at the end of the month, so I have a few weeks yet to decide exactly what I want.

playing-with-fire-softcover-mockup

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Dreamspinner Press

 

Jim Crawford was born wealthy, but he turned his back on it to become a police officer. Add to that his being gay, and he’s definitely the black sheep of the family.

Dr. Barty Halloran grew up with lessons instead of friends and toys, and as a result, became a gifted psychologist… with only an academic understanding of people and emotions.

When Jim’s pursuit of a serial killer goes nowhere, he turns to Dr. Halloran for help, and Barty thinks he can get inside the shooter’s mind. In many ways, they’re two sides of the same coin, which both scares and intrigues him. Together, Jim and Barty make progress on the case—until the stakes shoot higher when the killer turns his attention toward Barty.

To protect Barty, Jim offers to let Barty stay with him, where he discovers the doctor has a heart to go along with his brilliant mind after all. But as they close in on their suspect, the killer becomes desperate, and he’ll do anything to elude capture—even threaten those closest to Jim.

 

 

dirk-greysonDirk is very much an outside kind of man.  He loves travel and seeing new things.  Dirk worked in corporate America for way too long and now spends his days writing, gardening, and taking care of the home he shares with his partner of more than two decades.  He has a Master’s Degree and all the other accessories that go with a corporate job.  But he is most proud of the stories he tells and the life he’s built.  Dirk lives in Pennsylvania in a century old home and is blessed with an amazing circle of friends.

52 thoughts on “Welcome Birthday Guest Dirk Greyson!

  1. Ooo, I haven’t read this one. Will be adding this to my wish list. It sounds intriguing. Thanks Dirk. I’m a November baby too. Happy Birthday for later in the month. 🙂

  2. I’ve never been a cake eater. I always got ice cream cake for my birthday. Tho I’m not sure I’d ever pass up banana cake 😀 happy birthday for when yours comes by ❤

    So can't wait for the book to come out

  3. YAY!! Happy Birthday Month to you Dirk!! Although we don’t do birthdays much anymore, I have always had the opinion that cake is a MUST!! Wishing you all the wonderful things that Birthdays are made of!!

  4. Happy birthday Dirk it my Dads birthday this month he love cake so much that I am going to get him a chocolate fudge cake with butter cream icing anyway have great birthday when your comes around

  5. Carrot cake is one of my favourites. In fact, I’ve just bought a piece to have for dessert today (because my baking skills are so limited). You are lucky to have a partner who bakes for you whatever you want….

  6. Sounds like an interesting book, thanks for having this author as a guest on your site, I’m going to buy it

  7. Congratulations on the release of your new book tomorrow & your birthday in a few weeks. Busy month!

  8. Happy early birthday. German chacolat cake is my favorite with coconut topping but we always have carrot for birthdays

  9. Loved hearing about the cakes.. I wonder what you’ll choose? I love the story too another to my list. Happy Birthday Month to you too!

  10. Congratulations on your soon to be released book Playing with Fire. It sounds intriguing and the cover art is stunning.
    Dirk, I hope you have an awesome birthday later this month, and may all your dreams come true.

  11. Happy Birthday!!! I have always love a lemon cake with lemon frosting
    and this story does sound like it might need reading.

  12. Hope you have a wonderful birthday this month too. If I chose the cake it would be Red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting, yep thats my choice. My Bro alway wants carrot cake. My mum make our cakes for us.
    As for the book, I look forward to getting it and having a look at your other books too….nice to met you.

  13. I also enjoy carrot cake, but I like what is called an Italian cream cake. It’s hard to decide which is better. Happy birthday early to you. Amber, I hate your birthday month I just get my wish list worked down and you have to build it back up.

  14. Chocolate turtle cake, yummy! And that sound you hear is my book budget screaming…again…still…always…just give me all the books and nobody gets hurt (right?)

  15. Ohhh~~ Cake!! ❤
    I have a soft spot for a Tres leches's Cake. Some might find it gross because all they see is "soggy bread" But it's a real treat. I love it.
    Also, Love the sound of the book! I can't wait to get started on it!

  16. I’m partial to an ice cream cake myself. And I’m absolutely in love with the blurb from this book.

  17. Happy birthday as well! Maybe you can have a variety of flavors. No need to choose a favorite. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing the blurb.

  18. Have a great birthday also. Hard choice with the cakes as they all sound great. Love the blurb I now need to find the book. 🙂

  19. my own bday is later in the month so celebrate w/ cake (usually chocolate) & pumpkin pie (and yes b-day candles work very nicely in pie) 😉

  20. Wow! Just, Wow! Went to DSP to read the Long excerpt there and was blown away! This is definitely one to book I’d love to read. Much success, Dirk and an early Happy Birthday!
    I’m glad to have found you here at Amber’s Blog since you’re a new to me author.
    taina1959 @ yahoo.com

Comments are closed.