Welcome Birthday Guest Talia Carmichael!

Happy Birthday month to Amber! Thanks you Amber for letting me come and join the fun. Yay! Let’s party.

I’ve written a little interlude featuring characters from my Bonds of Justice series.

Unexpected Birthday Surprise…

A Bonds of Justice Interlude

By Talia Carmichael

 

Gio studied Mercer as he worked in the kitchen. The man had been acting weird for the last few weeks and Gio had his suspicions on why but he hadn’t said anything letting Mercer think he was good at hiding what he was planning. It would be revealed tonight anyway. Gio was finding it amusing that Mercer would think he could surprise him. Gio lifted the hot tea to his lips to hide his smile. Mercer was cute but he wouldn’t tell him that since it would irritate him. Gio lowered his cup then rethought it, an irritated Mercer was fun.

“You’re cute.” He wasn’t going for fancy just wanted to poke at Mercer.

Mercer lifted his head and glared. Gio set his cup down and leaned back.

“Do I look like a puppy or a kitten to you?” Mercer snorted. “Those are cute. If you want to call me anything say I’m sexy and I can’t live without you. That’s the way you give a man a compliment.”

“I’m sexy and you can’t live without me.” Gio smirked.

“That’s not the way I told you to say it, Gio.” Mercer rolled his eyes. “What am I going to do with you?”

Gio rose and went around kitchen island then stopped beside Mercer. He lifted his hand and smoothed a finger along Mercer’s face while staring into his eyes. “Love me.”

“Yes.” Mercer’s eyes twinkled. “And put up with your quirks.”

“Quirks! That’s not enough to describe me.” Gio lifted an eyebrow. “I’ll have you know I am eccentrically quirky.”

“Only you would sound so proud and boastful about that.” Mercer laughed.

“It’s a gift. One I am proud of.” Gio leaned on the counter next to him. “Why are you making dinner? I thought we were going out for my birthday.”

Gio couldn’t stop the smile. He knew Mercer was planning him a surprise party and the birthday dinner out was a ruse. It would be fun to see how he’d pull it off.

“Nah…figured you’d prefer a quite night at home just the two of us.” Mercer bumped shoulders with him. “I might even get naked and feed you that way.” He winked.

Gio leaned in and kissed him gently before saying. “Sounds good to me.”

He frowned then studied Mercer. The look in his gaze made Gio know he was up to something.

“So we’re not going out?”

“Nope.” Mercer smiled wider.

“Really?”

Really.” Mercer mimicked his tone.

Gio titled his head to the side and studied him.

Mercer laughed and stepped into his body. “I know that look. You’re trying to figure out something. Perhaps it’s about the surprise birthday party you were so sure that I was planning for you.”

“Well you have been acting weird and secretive. And you’ve had your head together with my brother, cousin and friends.” Gio thought back to all the conversations that stopped when he was close enough to hear and how everyone had been acting like they were in on a secret he knew nothing about.

“I have been. And I knew you would think it was because I was planning a party for your birthday.” Mercer winked. “It was to throw you off the real surprise.”

“You tricked me.” Gio blinked. “You actually fooled me.”

“That look.” Mercer reached across the counter for his cell. “Wait I need to get my camera so I can prove to people that I actually shocked the seemingly unshockable Gio.”

Gio tugged him back to him and held him. “You did. And no there will be no evidence of this.” He stared at him. “So since there is no party then what is the surprise?”

“Haven’t you been listening to me?” Mercer tugged on his ear. “Do you need to get your hearing checked?” Mercer winked then leaned in. “I’ve made you dinner and dessert and will be serving them to you naked. I’m gonna be your naked waiter for the night. Then if you’re lucky you might get lucky.” He kissed him on the chin. “Just a quite night home just the two of us.” He stepped back. “I’ll take the plates and you grab the drinks.”

“Why? Aren’t we eating here?” Gio gestured.

They usually ate in the kitchen either at the island or table by the window.

“Nope. Since this is for your birthday we’ll eat in the dining room.” Mercer picked up the plates and headed toward the door.

“Why aren’t you naked already?” Gio grabbed some drinks from the fridge and followed him.

“Follow me and I will be.” Mercer went around the corner and out of sight.

Thoughts for Mercer naked filled Gio’s head and he hurried after him. He went around the corner and then down the short hall. Mercer was already out of view inside the dining room. Gio went to the door and stepped in.

“You better be naked.”

“I really don’t want to see you cock, Mercer,” Brooks Walters said then seemed to consider. “Then again may—”

“Uh huh, you’re not looking at anyone’s dick but mine,” Hunter Montgomery— his boyfriend— said.

“I don’t want to see it,” Evan—Gio’s brother— said adamantly.

“You better not.” Ian—Evan’s boyfriend—slung his arm over Evan’s shoulder.

“I think we should all see it.” Craig Scott agreed, hopping up and down with a wide smile on his lips.

“Craig,” Spencer—Craig’s boyfriend—said in fond exasperation.

“It’s for my art.” Craig snickered.

“Art…really.” Carey—Craig’s brother snorted.

The rest of the people in the room echoed it.

Gio stared at his friends and family. Then he looked at Mercer who had a smug look on his face.

“I thought there wasn’t a party.” Gio eyes narrowed. “How the hell did you get everyone in here without me hearing them?” Gio turned and glared at Brooks.

Brooks shrugged. “I’m that good.”

“B—“

Mercer came over to him. “No growling at Brooks.” He smiled.

“You actually threw me a surprise party. Yet told me there wasn’t one.”

A flash made Gio look away from Mercer.

Brooks lowered his cell. “Pictorial proof that Mercer actually pulled one over on you.” He lifted his cell. “Who wants a copy?”

Many of the others in room crowded around Brooks. Gio stepped toward then shook his head letting it go. He focused back on Mercer.

“You used a ruse of no party to confuse me from your true intent.”

“I did. Happy Birthday, Gio,” Mercer said.

“Thank you.” Gio pulled him to him. “I don’t know if I like you confusing me though.”

“You’re confused,” Craig said close to them. “I was baffled when we were planning it. No party but yet there is a party.”

Gio glanced at Craig he was standing so close. Craig smiled. “You all are so cute together.”

Mercer glared and Gio laughed. Craig winked and went to join the others. Gio studied Mercer. He had given him a great surprise yet…

He lowered his head and said by Mercer’s ear. “When are they leaving so I can get you naked?”

“Now.” Mercer pulled away. “Okay, party’s over.”

Craig lifted an eyebrow. “You need to make up your mind if we’re having a party or not.”

“They just want to go have sex. Too bad, I’m not going anywhere. I’m staging a birthday sit-in.” Brooks drawled as he lowered himself to the floor and reclined.

Others joined him. Mercer put his hands on his hips glaring.

“Get out.”

“Nope.” Various people around the room replied.

Mercer sighed. Gio went over to him and put his hand around his waist and said, “Later.”

Mercer met his gaze and the promises in his gaze made Gio’s breath catch. He lowered his head and kissed Mercer. This was one of the best birthdays ever.

 

 

Copyright © Talia Carmichael, 2016.

All Rights Reserved.

 

* * * * *

wickedpursuit_sm

Amazon | Pride Publishing

To see how Gio and Mercer got together check out Wicked Pursuit…

 

Blurb:

An unexpected meeting leads two men on a path that will change them both.

Giovanni Murray speeds home after getting a signal about his house on fire. When he gets there it’s true but the man who is sneaking up behind him is the one who captures his attention. The stranger’s claim of being there to help rings true but when the man’s determination causes an altercation between them Gio is intrigued by this man. Another sort of instinct is raised and Gio is willing to explore where it might lead. Now he just needs to convince the man who has captured his interest.

Mercer Nelson knows fires and it makes his good at his job as a fire investigator. The fire he calls in seems suspicious to him however the man who owns the house seems even more so. There is a look in Gio’s eyes makes Mercer’s instincts war between reaching for his gun or to kiss Gio to get the look out of his eyes. Even after the fire with Mercer on the case he finds himself at odds with his instincts. He still is captivated by Giovanni Murray yet wonders what is beneath his exterior makes Mercer want to have a gun to protect himself. As he gets to know Gio he realized that he is as complex as he seems but no matter if his instincts are screaming danger Mercer decides to go after him. He hopes Gio can handle it…then again from what he’s seen there doesn’t seem to be anything Gio can’t handle.

When the hunter becomes the hunted, it gets interesting to see who will win in this match of wills in a Wicked Pursuit.

* * * * *

 

Contest:  From the comments below, 1 winner will be selected at random from all the comments and the prize for winner will be an All Romance Ebook – $ 10 ebooks bucks! (must have an account at All Romance Ebook so I can send the prize to you)

The contest will go until 11:59 pm Eastern time on November 30, 2016, so you have time to enter. Please enter an email address when you post your comment below. Once I announce the winner your email is how I confirm I am sending the prize to the person who commented below for the contest.

I will post winner and instructions to claim the prize on December 1, 2016 on my blog here http://taliacarmichael.com/blog.

Good Luck!

 

* * * * *

Bio: Talia Carmichael is a romantic who believes that family, no matter if it is by blood or those you choose as family, is integral to who you are. She is an author who writes sexy stories in a variety of genres. She believes in creating stories that encompass all that falling in love or lust entails, from the highs of that first blush of attraction to the lows of not knowing if you can make your coming together as a couple work, and then finally to the acceptance of the reality of making a life together. It’s all about the journey.

Among her books you’ll find contemporary, futuristic, fantasy, and paranormal settings with M/M themes that will have a happily-ever-after. Her books are passionate, intense, and real… to fill the craving. Check out more about Talia at http://taliacarmichael.com  or  http://taliacarmichael.com/blog. Contact her at http://taliacarmichael.com/blog/contact

or check her out on facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/TaliaCarmichaelAuthor. facebook group –  https://www.facebook.com/groups/TaliaCarmichaelBookNook

Twitter:  @taliacarmichael

 

 

130 thoughts on “Welcome Birthday Guest Talia Carmichael!

  1. Thank you for the cute story! I did not know about Gio and Mercer, but I’ll have to check their story. It sounds really good!

    1. Thanks. 🙂 and I suggest if you are on fb check out my group. I have some sneak peeks and stuff that’s not been posted anywhere yet.

      And I may be doing something soon there…well can’t tell yet. 🙂

    1. Thanks. It was fun visiting with them. 🙂

      I suggest if you are on fb check out my group. I have some sneak peeks and stuff that’s not been posted anywhere yet. Including this series

      And I may be doing something soon there…well can’t tell yet. 🙂

    1. Glad you enjoyed it.

      And I suggest if you are on fb check out my group. I have some sneak peeks and stuff that’s not been posted anywhere yet. Including this series.

      And I may be doing something soon there…well can’t tell yet. 🙂

    1. Thanks. 🙂 and I suggest if you are on fb check out my group. I have some sneak peeks and stuff that’s not been posted anywhere yet. Including this series

      And I may be doing something soon there…well can’t tell yet. 🙂

    1. Thanks. 🙂 and I suggest if you are on fb check out my group. I have some sneak peeks and stuff that’s not been posted anywhere yet.

      And I may be doing something soon there…well can’t tell yet. 🙂

  2. Sounds interesting, I will have to add it to my list. I like the non-surprise surprise birthday party, clever 🙂

  3. Gio and Mercer sound like a fun couple! The surprise/non-surprise birthday was priceless. I’ll have to check out this series.
    j dot stonewright at gmail dot com

  4. Thanks for the surprise birthday un-party story it was interesting. I don’t have any in this series but I have all of Impressions, Something in Common and the Encounters series and often re-read some of those.

  5. This is your only series I don’t have. Looks like I’m going to have to read this one too. Thanks for sharing, can’t wait for your next book to come out!

  6. This sounds really good. I have all your other MM, not sure why I didn’t know about this series. Will definitely be rectifying this. Thanks for the story. 🙂

  7. >o< skipping the snippet because I really want to read this series too. lol.. so much to read so little time! T_T

  8. This sounds like a really cute story, I’m adding it to my list! And I really enjoyed the surprise birthday party scene, very cute!

  9. Thank you for sharing Gio’s Birthday story with us! I love your books and can’t wait for the next one…in any of your series! I’m not picky! 😊

  10. Sorry for delay in posting. Here’s winner for my contest.

    BRANDIMROBERTS (Scssugar@yahoo.com)

    Prize: All Romance Ebook – $ 10 ebooks bucks! (must have an account at All Romance Ebook so I can send the prize to you)

    Congratulations!!! I’ll be emailing you at email address provided in the next few days.

    Thanks everyone for the comments. 🙂

Comments are closed.