Lord of Small Magics – 33

The next few days Anders felt the impending king’s visit with a sense of unease. Meck spent the time cleaning up the tent and fixing the dents in Anders armor. By the time the wizard finished Anders had armor more highly polished than he ever had before. He could blind his enemies if he couldn’t overcome them with his fighting skills.

“We will begin moving north tomorrow,” Anders said, interrupting Meck’s focus on his sword. He had mixed emotions about Meck placing any kind of spells on his weaponry but so far none of Meck’s spells had failed and Anders would rather have extra protections than fall in battle.

“Hmm,” Meck hummed as he slid his index finger along the flat of the blade. Blue sparks burst from his finger and dropped into the blade like falling stars.

“Dare I ask what you’re doing?” Anders propped his chin on his hand and continued to watch the wizard. Part of Meck’s charm lay in his complete lack of understanding over how amazing he was.

Anders could spend the rest of his life praising Meck and not once worry about him becoming too full of himself. He could count on one hand the number of people he could say that about.

Blinking as it took effort to pull out of his deep thoughts, Meck transferred his intense focus to Anders. His stomach flipped a few times at the targeted expression. “I’m reinforcing the integrity of the blade and putting an ever sharp charm on it. I’m not sure you much it will help but I have a feeling you will need it.”

“Thank you. I don’t like depending on others but I like it even less to have my blade dull.” Part of an apprentice’s duty would be to sharpen Anders sword but he hadn’t claimed a new apprentice since the last one ran of with the baker’s daughter.

“What was it you said about moving?”

Anders pushed away the heady rush he received from getting Meck’s full attention. It was embarrassing how easily the wizard affected him. “We’re going north tomorrow. The prince wants to see if we can corner the military group that retreated.”

“Meck turned and added a few more spells to Anders armor. He didn’t know what they were but they made his suit glow blue for a long while. “Dare I ask what you did?”

“Nothing you need to worry about.” Meck’s innocent expression did little to relieve Anders curiosity.

“Why doesn’t that make me feel better?”

Meck shrugged. “I have no idea.”

Anders caught the smirk on Meck’s face but didn’t comment on it. He allowed his lover to have his fun.

“I’ve had some people coming to me to request your services.”

“Doing what?”

“What you do for me.” Anders paused at Meck’s expression. “The armor spells, not anything else. My bed is the only one you will visit.” He’d snap the neck of anyone who thought they could have Meck in their bed or take him away.

Relief crossed Meck’s face. “I’m glad to hear that. I don’t want to be traded like used goods.”

Anders walked over to Meck then cupped his face between his hands. “You are precious to me. I’ve never taken to anyone as quickly as I have to you. For now and for all the times ahead I hope to be worthy of your care.”

Meck blushed. “I hope so too.”

Content with that answer Anders kissed Meck. The sound of someone clearing their throat broke them apart. Anders grabbed his favorite dagger from its sheath ready to impale the intruder. He barely held back when he discovered who it was.

“Your majesty,” he said in a strangled tone.

30 thoughts on “Lord of Small Magics – 33

  1. Hehe if it was the King then he would have heard and seen how Anders feels about Meck, I wonder if the royal would be dumb enough to try and get in the way of that

  2. It is really terrible of you to make us wait 4 days for the next installment. Now that Graven is done can we get them on Mondays and Wednesdays too?

  3. Oh oh… trouble just arrived..
    Can’t wait to see Meck’s reaction to the king..I have a feeling the king is in for a rude awakening if he thinks he can steal Meck away from Anders

  4. As much as i’d hate for Meck and Anders to be separated, if this is the king i’m looking forward to finding out what his doing with all those “best and brightest” his collecting and keeping at the castle.

Comments are closed.