Moon Pack Monday – Inno

moon pack mondayI’m trying to get things back on track and I’m kicking it off with a Monday Moon Pack, those little vignettes into the Moon Pack world. We will be wrapping up My Subby Valentine this month and I will have to come up with a new one to post.

****

Inno tried to be a good partner, but his goal to keep his lover happy didn’t appear to be working. Surely a contented mate wouldn’t have a vein throbbing in his forehead or have gained an eye twitch.

“Is there a problem?” Better to discover the issue instead of allowing it to fester.

“Why would you think there’s a problem?” Mikel’s voice had taken on a dangerous, dark tone. The one he usually saved for threatening other vampires.

“You are using that voice and there’s a tic in your left eye.”

The frustrated noise Mikel made had Inno eyeing the closest exit.

“And why do you think I would be upset? Do you have any theories? Perhaps your behavior today might have led to someone, namely me becoming upset with you?”

Inno mentally reviewed his day. He tried to pinpoint which of his actions might have triggered Mikel’s temper. He gave up after a minute or two. “I really can’t say.”

“Can’t or willfully won’t?” Mikel asked stepping closer until they were almost nose to nose.

Inno groaned. “Just tell me what I did and I’ll try not to do it again.” He refused to make a promise since he still wasn’t certain what he had done.

“Maybe you can tell me why you were in mutant territory?” Mikel’s voice reached a low, silky purr.

Inno sighed. “I got lost. Don’t worry I bribed my way out with cookies.”

“This is why you need to take a driver with you. You are too easily distracted.”

“The last driver tried to have me killed. You’ll forgive me if I’m a bit nervous about who takes me from place to place. I can’t chance them stealing the babies.”

“You had the kids with you?” Mike’s tone had grown sharper.

Inno winced. “Yes. But if it makes you feel better Oliver charmed the car’s back doors to only open for us. No one can reach in there and take out the kids.”

“That does make me feel a bit better. However, you need to be more aware of your surroundings. I would never forgive myself if something happened to you.”

Inno stepped forward to hug Mikel. “I’m fine. Nothing bad happened and I got directions even.”

Mikel’s laughter vibrated beneath the ear Inno had pressed against his mate’s shoulder. “I’m glad you’re fine. I just worry. Especially now that we’re a family.”

“I know.” His vampire mate fussed more than anyone he’d ever met. “Me and the twins are fine. Nothing to fixate over.”

“Good.” Mikel squeezed him tightly. Only Inno’s shifter durability prevented his ribs from cracking.

Before Inno could say anything else about his confusing afternoon, high pitched barking approached. He stepped back just in time to grab the wriggly wolf pups zooming around the room. Cradling one in each arm he snuggled them close.

“I think they prefer being wolves who can run around to kids who can barely move,” Mikel mused. “They look rather smug.”

Inno had to agree. He laughed at the satisfied expression on their furry faces. “They really do, don’t they.” He pressed a kiss on each of their heads. “I hope it doesn’t hurt them developmentally to remain in their wolf form so often.”

“You should ask some of the pack when they started shifting into wolves,” Mikel said watching their adopted children.

“It varies. I asked around.” Without having the usual background of a wolf shifter, Inno had asked several pack members about their experiences.

“Hmm. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.” Mikel picked up the girl wolf and rubbed noses with her. She let out a happy bark. “Hello sweet Claudia.”

Inno smiled as Mikel kissed the baby wolf on the head. “You are so good with them.” He struggled to hold onto the boy pup who wriggled to get the same attention from the vampire.

“I try. I’ve never thought of being a family man before they came around. I’m happy with you and the twins, which is why I’ve been a little overprotective. Just be careful, my love, I’d be devastated without you.”

Inno nodded. “I’ll be careful,” he vowed.

“Good. We should have Oliver over to charm the cribs so the pups can’t escape.” Mikel said leading Inno back toward the nursery.

“They’ll just howl.” The twins were stubborn when they wanted out.

“Just like babies we need to just let them cry some times,” Mikel argued. “Besides the daddies need some time together.”

Inno would’ve argued but the sizzling smile Mikel flashed stole all his arguments.

“Maybe we can talk to Oliver after all,” he mused.

“I’ll do it in the morning,” Mikel promised.

With Mikel’s strong arm around his waist, Inno went with his mate to settle their children and find some times for themselves. After losing his sister, Inno had wanted to wallow in a fit of depression, but the kids changed all that. Now his goal had changed to watching the twins grow up. With Mikel by his side he had a feeling they had a wonderful life ahead of them.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Moon Pack Monday – Inno

  1. I’m so glad I only had 1 at a time. Any family that has multiple births I’m in awe of.

Comments are closed.