Uncategorized

Today’s Guest is Lisabet Sarai

A Different Kind of Vampire
By Lisabet Sarai

Greetings, Amber-philes!

When I realized my guest blog date here at Amber’s place was coming up fast, I decided to hop over to see what sort of posts she normally offers. It quickly became clear that right now, at least, she’s promoting vampires in a big way because of  her recent release. I figured she must be attracting readers who enjoy mixing with the undead, so I decided to talk about my M/M/F vampire ménage, Fire in the Blood.

I originally targeted this novella for a vampire anthology. Being a contrary sort of person (ask my husband!), I was determined to create a different kind of vampire from your run-of-the-mill romance blood drinker. My vampire Etienne is a recluse. Full of remorse and suffering from cruel memories, he avoids the human race. He’s not part of a dazzling clan of brash, confident immortals who view human beings as play things and prey. He’s a true loner.

Etienne’s also a slave – not in the BDSM sense, but literally – torn from his native Africa more than a century ago to work on a Haitian plantation. He’s not the cultured, world-weary sophisticate first pioneered by Anne Rice. Although he’s not a savage, he retains the superstitions from the land of his birth. He believes in demons and ghosts. Etienne is painfully aware that he himself is a creature of darkness, and finds that knowledge difficult to bear.

When my editor read the manuscript, she asked whether I’d be willing to expand the story as a stand-alone release instead of an anthology contribution. I was glad to have that opportunity since I felt as though I’d been forced by the anthology word count limit to cut the story short.

In all honesty, I’m not a huge fan of vampire erotic romance. Most of it feels terribly predictable to me. I do love Etienne, though. Like my heroine Madeleine and my hero Troy, I wouldn’t be able to resist him.

Blurb

Maddy and Troy hope that a sunny, carefree vacation in tropical Jamaica will re-ignite the passion in their five year relationship. On a scenic mountain trail ride, Maddy’s horse bolts and carries her deep into the jungle. Injured and lost, she is saved by a seductive giant of a man whose mere presence kindles unbearable lust. By the time she understands his dark nature, it is far too late for her to escape.

Bitter and alone, Etienne de Rémorcy haunts the forest around the ruined plantation of Fin d’Espoir. He has sworn to never again taste taste human blood, but when slender, raven-haired Madeleine begs him to take her, he cannot resist.

Troy is hugely relieved when Maddy makes her way back to their hotel after her ordeal in the mountains. But he finds her greatly changed―fiercely passionate in bed, restless and disturbed at other times. The tall, elegant stranger he meets on the beach holds the key to her transformation―and soon has seduced Troy as well.  Even Etienne’s most potent magic can’t extinguish the fire in Troy’s and Madeleine’s blood.

Excerpt

His entry was swift and silent.  She didn’t even know he was behind her until she noticed his fire-cast shadow on the bed.  “You may wear this.” He handed her a brilliant garment of multi-coloured silk.  “It belonged to my mistress.”  The dressing gown was soft as a cloud, so delicate that Maddy feared it would tear at her slightest touch.

“God, it’s exquisite.”  The jewel-toned robe shimmered with a twining pattern of blossoms and peacocks.  “But I can’t wear this. I’ll destroy it. It looks like an antique.”

“Put it on.”  Power rang in his voice. There was no way that she could disobey. She slipped the gown over her shoulders and belted it around her waist.  The silk caressed her breasts and belly like secret hands. Her pussy dampened again.  “Sit down now, and I will bind your ankle.”

She seated herself on the bed. The giant perched on a wooden stool and drew her foot into his lap. Maddy struggled to hold still. Every time he brushed his fingers over her flesh, electric thrills sizzled up to strike between her legs.  She wanted him to push to slithery silk up her thighs, to spread them so wide that it hurt, then dive down to feast on her juicy sex. Surely he must smell her. He must hear her heart, so loud in own ears that she could no longer hear the crackling fire.  However, he appeared to be completely occupied with his nursing duties. He wrapped her foot and ankle in layer after
layer of taut muslin, a reasonable substitute for an ace bandage, then secured his efforts with several safety pins.

She couldn’t stand it any more.  She laid her palm on the kinky nap covering his head.  He raised his eyes.  In their depths she saw wisdom and pain. “I’m Madeleine,” she said.  “What’s your name?”

“Etienne.” He settled back on the stool.  “Etienne de Rémorcy.”

“I want to thank you, Etienne. For all your help.”  Casually, with one hand, she loosened the sash holding the robe closed.  She leaned forward, so that the silk gaped open and revealed her gleaming white breasts.

“I could hardly do otherwise.  My mistress taught me how to be a gentleman. You obviously needed my assistance.” His rich voice sounded strained.

“Oh, I did.” Maddy shifted on the bed. The dressing gown slipped off one shoulder.  “I still do.”  The peacocks slithered away, exposing her pale thigh and her wound, crusted with dried blood.

Etienne’s eyes glittered.  His blunt hands shot out and grabbed her wrists. “Do not play with me, girl.”  Lust gushed through Maddy’s body. Etienne’s nostrils twitched. He tightened his grip until she cried out. “Do not tempt me.”

“You’re hurting me,” she whimpered. “Please…” Dimly she understood that she was not begging to be released.

“Believe me, I will hurt you far more if we continue.” Etienne forced her down on the bed, her captured arms above her, and straddled her with his massive thighs.  “Although I was taught to be a gentleman, in truth I am a savage beast.”  The fragile silk tore away from her nakedness.

“Don’t you want me?”  Maddy’s eyes swam with tears.

He brought his mouth close to her ear. “You could not possibly understand how much.” His breath was the icy exhalation of a glacier.

She shivered under his weight.  His coolness only stoked the fire in her pussy.  “Then take me.”

He freed her wrists and sat back on his heels, searching her face.  She cupped her ripe breasts and offered them to him. Please, she prayed silently, let him see my need.  She opened herself to him, letting those luminous eyes probe her deepest desires.

He licked his full lips, and his white teeth gleamed in the fire light.  He reached for his belt. “Let it be as you will, then,” he growled.  “I am no longer responsible.”

————————–
Intrigued? Watch the spooky, sexy trailer at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzVRy4LTQe0

My warmest thanks to Amber for having me as her guest. I’m giving away a copy of Fire in the Blood to one lucky person who leaves a comment. Don’t forget to include your email address! If you’re not my winner, you can buy the book from Total-E-Bound (http://www.total-e-bound.com/product.asp?P_ID=876) or your favorite on-line bookstore.

And speaking of free… My short story collection Just A Spanking is free to all at Amazon, today (March 9th) only! Don’t miss your chance!  http://www.amazon.com/Just-Spanking-Dominance-Submission-ebook/dp/B006V2W680/

Visit Lisabet’s Fantasy Factory:  http://www.lisabetsarai.com

Venture Beyond Romance:  http://lisabetsarai.blogspot.com

Join Lisabet’s List:  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/lisabets_list

35 thoughts on “Today’s Guest is Lisabet Sarai

  1. Sounds yummy to me! Thanks Lisabet Sarai for the interview. I’m going to go check what else you have.

  2. I have not read any of your books yet, I went to Amazon and got “Just a Spanking” I will be reading today. can’t wait. Thank you for stopping by. Just a Spanking is now comming up free at amazon.

  3. Hi Laurie – Thanks for dropping by. I write in a wide range of genres, so whatever you like, you’ll probably find something appropriate. Check out my cover gallery

    http://www.lisabetsarai.com/covergallery.html

    Click on any cover to get to the blurb and excerpt.

    Hello, Selina – take a look now. I think Amber put the post up before Amazon change the price.

    Greetings, Terri – Thanks very much for commenting. I hope you’ll remedy the omission! ;^)

    You can find a brief excerpt from Just a Spanking over at my blog today:
    http://lisabetsarai.blogspot.com/2012/03/just-spanking-free-today-and-tomorrow.html

    And very warm thanks to you, Amber, for having me as your guest.

    Oh – by the way – If you comment, please include your email address, so I can find you if you’re my winner!

  4. Oh, I must say I love vampires….

    Damn it, just when I thought my TBR pile couldn’t get any bigger. Sigh.

  5. Wow this sounds really good. Thanks for sharing. Got it on my wish list at TEB.

    rainedelight @ yahoo (dot) com

  6. I’ve just added this to my must have list. DANG, that excerpt was hot.

    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  7. That little excerpt just wet my appetite! Man, that was sooo hot. I had to add you to my list of favorites to make sure I come back for more.

  8. I’m not usually into vampire stories unless they get me in the mood and are done right–I can say that I would very much like to read this one!

    tsukito34 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  9. Sounds like another great story. The excerpt was very very good.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  10. love it shows a different type of vampire instead of a cullen from twilight can’t wait to read this one it’s a must buy

  11. WOW! This sounds REALLY interesting. Please count me in.

    aunt_cori(at)yahoo.com

  12. Sounds hot and yummy! Id love to read it! Sounds so dang good! Thanks for sharing!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  13. Hi Lisabet,
    thank you for the chance at such a great giveaway. i love the cover, it’s gorgeous and the excerpt was HOT! i can hardly wait to see what happens next.

    also thankyou for the free book, it is a great book and i have about 1/2 read so far.

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  14. Hey everyone!

    Thanks for your comments and compliments.

    I’ll wait until Sunday to pick a winner – so you can pass this link on to your friends!

  15. Love the post and the excerpt. Sounds like a great read. Thanks for the giveaway.

    tamsyn5(at)yahoo(dot)com

  16. Hello Lisabet,

    Thank you Amber for hosting Lisabet Sarai on you Blog, you always bring Us such FANTASTIC Authors with Amazing Books. Also thank you Lisabet for taking time out of your day to spend with Amber’s Fan Club lol to share your Post, “A Different Kind of Vampire” which really intrigued me. Then I read your Excerpt & watched the Book Trailer on YouTube….& you WOW’ed me!!!, besides having to fan myself. 😉 Phewww, this is gonna be one Sizzlin’ Sexy read!!! For those who didn’t read the entire excerpt, let me show you what grabbed me & left me Wanting MORE!!!! If I may take a quote from you’re Excerpt:

    “She shivered under his weight. His coolness only stoked the fire in her pussy. “Then take me.”

    He freed her wrists and sat back on his heels, searching her face. She cupped her ripe breasts and offered them to him. Please, she prayed silently, let him see my need. She opened herself to him, letting those luminous eyes probe her deepest desires.

    He licked his full lips, and his white teeth gleamed in the fire light. He reached for his belt. “Let it be as you will, then,” he growled. “I am no longer responsible.” ”

    OMG, what a TEASER!!!!! I just Love Erotic Paranormal Romances, especially those with Vampires! This is most Definitely a MUST Read! I

    You are right, I can see how your heroine Madeleine & your hero Troy could NOT resist Etienne…I sure wouldn’t be able to resist this Seductive, Alpha Vampire who exudes such Lust & Passion. Oh Yea, I’d like Etienne to save me in the jungle or come upon him while walking on the beach!!! 😉 I’m sooooo Bad!!!

    Take care & Have a Great Weekend,
    PaParanormalFan (Renee’ S.)
    paranormalromancefan@yahoo.com

  17. Okay -I just went to Random.org and drew TERRI A as the winner.

    BUT – Terri, you didn’t leave me any email!!

    You have until 11 PM EST Monday the 12th to contact me at

    lisabet [at] lisabetsarai.com

    Otherwise, I’ll have to draw another name.

    Thanks to everyone who participated in the contest. If you’d like to be kept up to date about all my giveaways, you can join my Yahoo group, Lisabet’s List:

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/lisabets_list

    And once again, thank you, Amber, for hosting me.

  18. I LOVE Lisabet’s stories – and this one is going to be another fav.

    Jacki

    shelby15(at)clearwire(dot)net

Comments are closed.