Uncategorized

November

This month has faded fast. The days raced by. I’m going to spend December getting a good schedule up for the new year so I can offer a lot of books that you have all been waiting so patiently (and not so patiently for). I love and appreciate all of my fans. Here is a little snippet for a potential book. I wrote it a while ago and didn’t continue but I think it has possibilities.

***

The hedges shook and high-pitched giggles poured from them as if the entire bush was alive.

A foul curse left Jamie Ferson’s lips. He growled as he stomped through his backyard gate and all around his neighbor’s fence to reach the front door. Without hesitation he pounded on the wood.

He tapped his foot as he waited for the small house’s occupant to answer. When no one came he lifted his fist to bang again only for it to swing open before he made contact again.

If he wasn’t so annoyed, he’d find the rumpled head of fine curls adorable.

“Jamie!” the wide smile derailed the last of his anger.

“Martin.” He sighed.

“What’s wrong?” Martin tied his striped robe hiding from sight the glimpse of his equally striped pajamas. To someone who slept completely nude it was excessive clothing.

“There’s fairies in the hedge again.”

Martin’s smile faded. “Sorry?”

“You have to stop feeding them.”

“But they’re good pollinators,” Martin protested.

“They destroy my garden. Last time they tore up my rosemary and pilfered all the best herbs from my potion bed. They have to go!” He didn’t allow for any room for negotiation. “I spent three years getting it back into shape. I don’t want to redo all that work because you have a soft spot for fairies. Get rid of them or I’m calling pest control.”

Martin gasped. “You wouldn’t! They’ll kill them.”

Jamie folded his arms across his chest. “I don’t want to call them, but I will. If you have a better way of getting rid of them, do it. You have two days.” He turned and walked away before Martin could twist him around his finger. Jamie had a stupid weakness for Martin’s sweet smiles. Best get out of sight before he could be convinced that invading fairies were perfectly fine destroying his hard work.

A soft goodbye followed him as he walked away. He didn’t turn back.

Tension eased from his shoulders once he crossed the threshold of his home. Layers of protective wards wrapped around him and immersed him in a feeling of safety.

7 thoughts on “November

  1. Thank you for sharing your birth month with us. It’s always a treat to read a snippet of what’s circling your brain. Best wishes for the new year.
    The story sounds fun.

Comments are closed.